Entirely Ellington: A Complete Portrait of the Duke

The UCSB Jazz Ensemble, directed by Jon Nathan, presents a tribute and exploration of the career of Duke Elliington for its opening concert of the 2012-13 season.

When: Wednesday, Dec. 5, 2012, 8 p.m.

Where: Lotte Lehmann Concert Hall, Music Bldg. 1315, UCSB, CA

Cost: $7 - $15

Age limit: 10+

Categories: Jazz


This will feature music from the Ellington's early Cotton Club years to the middle heyday years of the "Blanton-Webster Band," to the later years of the "Strayhorn Influence," where the addition of composer arranger Billy Strayhorn drastically altered the musical personality of the Ellington Orchestra.

6 ensembles will be featured in this tour of the world of Edward "Duke" Ellington. Early pieces include Duke's "Black and Tan Fantasy, "The Mooche," and "Black Beauty," as well as combo performances of the Juan Tizol melodies "Caravan" and "Perdido."

The rich late 1930's to early 1940's were the prime-time for Ellington's orchestra to work dance and concert halls all over the world, and produced such masterworks as "Koko," "Jack the Bear," and "Rockin' In Rhythm."
The Strayhorn years produced such well known pieces as "Take the A Train," played by the large ensemble in an arrangement by Don Sebesky, and "Blood Count," the plaintive ballad written on Strayhorn's death bed.

Phone: 805-893-7001

Event posted Nov. 27, 2012
Last updated Nov. 27, 2012


Independent Discussion Guidelines

Jagwar Ma

Sydney psych rock band performs in support of their 2013 ... Read More