Natalie D-Napoleon

Natalie D-Napoleon

Natalie D-Napoleon

After the Flood

Syrinx Music; November 2007

This arresting recording, the first U.S. release from Australian singer/songwriter Natalie D-Napoleon, offers up a delectable selection of energetic alt-country gems. The former Flavour of the Month vocalist ably accompanies herself on guitar, amid support from some of western Australia’s finest musicians (Month of Sundays’ drummer Terry Preston, Honey bassist Ian Campbell, prolific pedal steel player Ian Simpson, and guitarist Kilian Albrecht). D-Napoleon’s throaty, gin-clear voice soars on such resonant songs as the infectiously upbeat title track, the languid, brooding “Slow Burn,” and the pensive “How Seamless (Seemed Love).” Her writing is infused with passion and fervor, making After the Flood both a reflective and adventurous rompa tempting harbinger of D-Napoleon’s future Santa Barbara appearances. (For more on Natalie D-Napoleon, see here.)

To submit a comment on this article, email or visit our Facebook page. To submit information to a reporter, email

Be succinct, constructive, and relevant to the story. Leaving a comment means you agree to our Discussion Guidelines. We like civilized discourse. We don't like spam, lying, profanity, harassment or personal attacks.

comments powered by Disqus
event calendar sponsored by:

Volunteers in Policing Is Looking for 10 Good Men and Women

An eye-opening volunteer program at Santa Barbara Police Department.

Alvarado and Ford File for School Board

Mark M. Alvarado and Kate Ford registered to run for the Santa Barbara Unified school board.

Thousands Received DACA Relief After Lawsuits Filed

Renewal applications have totaled 117,446 since program suspension was overturned.

Bank Robbery Suspect Kills Self in Bathroom

[Update] The suspect in the Goleta Rabobank robbery has been identified as Keith David Goodwin, believed to ...

News-Press’ Found to Owe Union and Employees $2.2 Million

National Labor Relations Board puts money amount on employee losses since 2006.