Two UCSB Faculty Members Elected to National Academy of Sciences

UCSB faculty members Douglas Burbank and Gary Horowitz were elected to the National Academy of Sciences this week, the highest honor that can be accorded to a U.S. scientist or engineer. This brings the number of active UCSB faculty members elected to the academy to 32; there are 2,222 members of the elite organization. Burbank, director of UCSB’s Institute for Crustal Studies and professor of earth science, specializes in tectonic geomorphology and the physiographic evolution of mountain ranges, and Horowitz, professor of physics, researches Einstein’s theory of general relativity and its synthesis with quantum mechanics.

To submit a comment on this article, email or visit our Facebook page. To submit information to a reporter, email

Be succinct, constructive, and relevant to the story. Leaving a comment means you agree to our Discussion Guidelines. We like civilized discourse. We don't like spam, lying, profanity, harassment or personal attacks.

comments powered by Disqus
event calendar sponsored by:

News Commentary: Ribbon Cutting Is Not as Easy as It Looks

Grand opening for new Eastside bridge conveys a tingle of progress.

Santa Barbara Rental Prices Have Skyrocketed Over the Last Five Years

The average rent for a South Coast studio is $1,553.

Trio Stops the Show at Board of Education

More than a dozen appeal to Santa Barbara Unified School District to maintain music classes and programs.

Santa Barbara District Attorney Endorses Villaraigosa for Governor

Joyce Dudley preferred the former Los Angeles mayor’s positions on crime and education.

San Marcos Principal Files Suit Against Santa Barbara Unified School District

Ed Behrens charges emotional and physical distress due to demotion.