SBCC Board Of Trustees Elect New Officers

2011 Calendar Year Positions Set Post-Election; Haslund Board President

At its annual organizational meeting on December 16, the Santa Barbara Community College District Board of Trustees elected Peter Haslund, Ph.D., as president of the board for the 2011 calendar year. Luis Villegas was named board vice president.

Dr. Haslund was elected to the board in November 2010 and represents SBCC District area 1 including Carpinteria and Summerland. Professor emeritus of political science, he retired from SBCC in 2009 after 36 years of teaching. Dr. Haslund’s credits include developing the International and Global Studies major at SBCC and creating and directing a number of Study Abroad Programs. He is former president of the SBCC Academic Senate and was named Faculty Lecturer of the Year in 2000, the highest honor given to a faculty member at SBCC each year. In 2005, he was honored with the statewide Hayward Award for Excellence in Education.

Dr. Haslund serves on the Board of Directors for the Nuclear Peace Foundation, the Western Collegiate Model United Nations, and Foundation for SBCC. He received his A.A. degree from Los Angeles City College, his B.A. degree from California State University, Los Angeles, his M.A. degree from Midwestern University in Wichita Falls, Texas, and his Ph.D. from UC Santa Barbara.

Luis Villegas has been a member of the board since March 1993 and represents SBCC District area 4 including Goleta, Hope Ranch and Ellwood. Currently working in banking management, Mr. Villegas has held officer positions at the state level with the California Community College Trustees and the California Association of Latino Community College Trustees. He is a former SBCC instructor.

In the community, Mr. Villegas has served on the boards of the Santa Barbara Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, the Channel Islands YMCA, Casa de La Raza and Antioch University. In 2004, Mr. Villegas was named recipient of the Santa Barbara Hispanic Achievement Council Award, and in 2010, the Anti-Defamation League of Santa Barbara honored him with the Distinguished Community Service Award. He received his A.A. degree from Santa Barbara City College, his B.A. degree from UC Santa Barbara, and conducted graduate coursework at the Universidad Autónoma de México in Mexico City and at UC Santa Barbara.

Other members of the SBCC District Board are: Marty Blum (Area 3-Santa Barbara), Marsha Croninger (Area 3-Santa Barbara), Joan Livingston (Area 3-Santa Barbara), Morris Jurkowitz (Area 2 - Montecito), and Lisa Macker (Area 4 - Goleta, Hope Ranch, Ellwood). Nicole Ridgell serves as student trustee.

To submit a comment on this article, email or visit our Facebook page. To submit information to a reporter, email

Be succinct, constructive, and relevant to the story. Leaving a comment means you agree to our Discussion Guidelines. We like civilized discourse. We don't like spam, lying, profanity, harassment or personal attacks.

comments powered by Disqus
event calendar sponsored by:

New Scam Involves ‘Ground Stability Testing’

Fake 'land tech' tried to enter a home on the Westside.

Family Sues Santa Barbara County Sheriff’s Office For Wrongful Death

Five deputies shot Bryan Carreño 20 times.

County Race for Auditor-Controller Turns Ugly

An unexpected bloodbath erupts between Jen Christensen and Betsy Schaffer.

Gun Restraining Order Used 20 Times in Santa Barbara County

Only Los Angeles County used the order more frequently.

Four Westside Candidates Vie for City Council Seat

The election for a District 3 representative will be held on June 5.