New Voter Districts for SBCC Trustee Elections

The SBCC Board of Trustees has approved new voter districts for future trustee elections. Historically, the seven elected seats on the board (though each one technically represents one of five regional districts such as Carpinteria and the Mesa) were decided via an “at large” election. Now, under the new rules, each seat will be determined by only the votes of their respective districts. Further, with last Thursday’s approval, two new voter districts were established. Starting in 2012, the new districts — which are all roughly the same size population-wise — will be Carpinteria/Montecitio, Goleta, Santa Barbara (downtown), Santa Barbara (unincorporated, Gaviota, etc.), Santa Barbara (the Mesa), Santa Barbara (Isla Vista, Noleta), and Santa Barbara (Mission Canyon and various north areas).

To submit a comment on this article, email or visit our Facebook page. To submit information to a reporter, email

Be succinct, constructive, and relevant to the story. Leaving a comment means you agree to our Discussion Guidelines. We like civilized discourse. We don't like spam, lying, profanity, harassment or personal attacks.

comments powered by Disqus
event calendar sponsored by:

Albright Sounds the Alarm on Fascism

Former Secretary of State addresses U.S. political climate in Santa Barbara appearance.

Gas Company Asks Consumers to Conserve

Cold spell could stress natural gas heating infrastructure.

Highway 101 to Close Wednesday and Thursday

Removal of bridge supports at Olive Mill Road to divert traffic through Montecito.

Santa Barbara Surfer Chris Brown Dies

Body found just east of Hendry’s Beach.

Damaged Bridge Repairs Delayed

March, June, and July given as possible completion dates by Caltrans for six bridges along the 192 ...