Latest on School Board, SBCC Trustee Races

Thus far, Ed Heron is the only one of three incumbents on the Santa Barbara School Board to file for reelection. Susan Deacon and Annette Cordero have not. Pedro Paz, an employee with Santa Barbara County, has indicated he will run for one of the seats, though he has not qualified for the ballot. Candidates have until 8/10 to file for office.

As of Tuesday, no candidates had filed to run in three Santa Barbara City College Board of Trustees districts. Redistricting removed two incumbents — Joan Livingston and Morris Jurkowitz — from their districts, while Luis Villegas is the incumbent in area 4. Jurkowitz is now in Dr. Peter Haslund’s district, while Livingston is now in Marsha Croninger’s district. Candidates have until 8/10 to file for office, and if no incumbent files to run, the deadline is extended until 8/15.

To submit a comment on this article, email or visit our Facebook page. To submit information to a reporter, email

event calendar sponsored by:

Gas Company Asks Consumers to Conserve

Cold spell could stress natural gas heating infrastructure.

Highway 101 to Close Wednesday and Thursday

Removal of bridge supports at Olive Mill Road to divert traffic through Montecito.

Santa Barbara Surfer Chris Brown Dies

Body found just east of Hendry’s Beach.

Damaged Bridge Repairs Delayed

March, June, and July given as possible completion dates by Caltrans for six bridges along the 192 ...

Natural History Museum Begins Vertebrate Preservation Project

The project will move 45,000 specimens into bug-proof conservation boxes.