Books & Poetry

Michael Pollan in Conversation

The author of The Omnivore’s Dilemma will engage in conversation with Sansum Clinic’s Dr. Kurt Ransohoff and Dr. Fred Kass. Read story.

Thursday, April 23, 2015

Daniel Levitin Talks Too Much Information

Neuroscientist Daniel Levitin explores the effects of sensory overload on the brain in his latest book. Read story.

Thursday, April 16, 2015

April Is Poetry Month, Part IV

David Starkey reviews 30 books of poems, one for each day of the month. Read story.

Wednesday, April 15, 2015

April Is Poetry Month, Part III

David Starkey reviews 30 books of poems, one for each day of the month. Read story.

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

April is Poetry Month, Part II

More poetry reviews from The Independent’s book reviewer David Starkey. Read story.

Tuesday, March 31, 2015

April is Poetry Month

Independent book reviewer David Starkey has, for the second year, written 30 short reviews to celebrate each day of Poetry Month. Read story.

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Book Review: Hey Guy, This Is The Butterfly

Santa Barbara author Grace De Soto Ferry's collection of short stories makes memories soar. Read story.

Monday, March 16, 2015

Colm Tóibín Reimagines the Virgin Mary

The Testament of Mary author will appear at the Santa Barbara Museum of Art on Thursday, March 12. Read story.

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Women’s Literary Festival

The 10th annual event takes place Saturday, March 7. Read story.

Thursday, March 5, 2015

Book Review: Duty: Memoirs of a Secretary at War

Robert Gates’s memoir is nearly 600 pages about his experiences in the Bush 43 and Obama administrations. Read story.

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

Who Is Lemony Snicket?

Author Daniel Handler answers the question — sort of. Read story.

Thursday, February 19, 2015

Books: The Art of Noise: Conversations with Great Songwriters

Author Daniel Rachel’s new book presents an oral history of British songwriting. Read story.

Monday, February 16, 2015

Book Review: The Rosie Effect

Australian author Graeme Simsion continues the adventures of Don Tillman in his new book. Read story.

Tuesday, February 10, 2015

Frank Lloyd Wright on the West Coast

Mark Anthony Wilson and Joel Puliatti created this comprehensively researched pictorial account of Frank Lloyd Wright’s work in California, Oregon, and Washington. Read story.

Friday, February 6, 2015

Books: Wet

Poet and songwriter Toni Stern talks about her new book. Read story.

Monday, February 2, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: