WEATHER »

Books

Chip Kidd Talks Iconic Book Covers

The designer of more than 1,500 book jackets speaks at UCSB. Read story.

Thursday, May 4, 2017

New Santa Barbara Poet Laureate

Enid Osborn was given the title on April 11. Read story.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Isabel Allende Comes to S.B.

UCSB’s Arts & Lectures presents an evening with the acclaimed writer. Read story.

Monday, April 10, 2017

‘Black Belt Power’ Inspires

MAFF’s Melodee Meyer gathers extraordinary stories from martial artists. Read story.

Wednesday, April 5, 2017

National Poetry Month Book Reviews

Independent book reviewer David Starkey writes 30 short synopses to celebrate each day of April. Read story.

Thursday, March 30, 2017

Colson Whitehead’s ‘The Underground Railroad’

National Book Award winner to speak at UCSB on April 5. Read story.

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

'Talk Like a Californian'

Here’s a new guide to slang from cultures of North, South, Tech, and Surf. Read story.

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

‘Insane Clown President: Dispatches from the 2016 Circus’

Journalist Matt Taibbi’s new book shows how Trump won the White House. Read story.

Tuesday, March 7, 2017

Conversation with Cancer Expert Siddhartha Mukherjee

Pulitzer Prize-winner discusses the disease with writer Ethan Stewart. Read story.

Sunday, February 19, 2017

The North Water by Ian McGuire

The author re-creates a world that is violent and unforgiving. Read story.

Thursday, January 26, 2017

Better Living Through Criticism

David Starkey reviews Better Living Through Criticism Read story.

Thursday, January 26, 2017

John C. Holman Pens ‘Pom’s Odyssey’

The S.B. resident writes a delightful memoir of his journey and life in Australia. Read story.

Thursday, January 19, 2017

‘Dog Training the American Male’

Author L.A. Knight’s new book offers laughs aplenty. Read story.

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Douglas Brinkley Ponders Trump

The presidential historian comes to town on January 26. Read story.

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Magic Mushrooms for Early Christians?

The new book ‘The Psychedelic Gospels’ explores the possibility of holy hallucinogens. Read story.

Thursday, December 22, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: