WEATHER »

Books

Books: Ishmael Beah’s Radiance of Tomorrow

The bestselling author will be at UCSB’s Campbell Hall on Monday, March 10, to discuss his latest book. Read story.

Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Interview: Author Tim Egan

The Pulitzer Prize-winning writer comes to town to talk about his book The Big Burn as part of UCSB Reads. Read story.

Thursday, February 27, 2014

Rumi in Words and Music

Preeminent Rumi translator Coleman Barks will read the Persian mystic’s poems alongside improvising cellist David Darling at UCSB’s Campbell Hall on Sunday, March 2 at 3 p.m. Read story.

Thursday, February 27, 2014

Book Review: Knocking on Heaven’s Door

Theoretical physicist Lisa Randall writes a book of big, mind-bending ideas about the nature of the universe. Read story.

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Carp Author Rebecca Rockwell

A fourth-generation Carpinterian writes her third western novel. Read story.

Thursday, February 20, 2014

Book Review: B.J. Novak

The Office actor’s gift for written gab is clear in his debut book, One More Thing: Stories and Other Stories. Read story.

Monday, February 17, 2014

Book Review: Portrait Inside My Head

A master of creative nonfiction, Phillip Lopate returns with a new collection of essays. Read story.

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

New Joseph Campbell Book on Goddess Myths

In Goddesses: Mysteries of the Feminine Divine, Editor Safron Rossie sheds light on another side of the man who made famous the hero’s journey. Read story.

Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Philip Levine to Speak in S.B.

UCSB Arts & Lectures will present former U.S. Poet Laureate Philip Levine in a free public reading at the New Vic on Thursday, January 16. Read story.

Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Que Serra, Serra

Author of new biography on California's pioneering padre to speak at Mission on Monday. Read story.

Saturday, January 11, 2014

Richard Rodriguez to Speak in Santa Barbara

UCSB Arts & Lectures will bring the award-winning journalist and essayist to the New Vic for a free public conversation with writer Pico Iyer. Read story.

Thursday, January 9, 2014

Bilingual Books for Kids

Sonia Colasse teaches English, Italian, and French in her The Adventures of Enzo series. Read story.

Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Book: Review of Compromise Cake

Instead of oohs and ahhs, readers get regrets and complaints as often as they might get helpful hints for recreating homey 1960s food that moms made. Read story.

Tuesday, December 31, 2013

Books: Fiction Gift Picks

It’s been eons since the publishing world produced a year of such majestic proportions, and it seems absurd not to give friends novels for holiday presents. Read story.

Monday, December 30, 2013

Books: The Grace of Crows

I wanted to write a story about severe anxiety that others could relate to, learn from, and ultimately gain perspective. Read story.

Monday, December 23, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: