WEATHER »

Classical

Soft Sounds of the Chicago Symphony

Principal clarinetist Stephen Williamson reports the world-class orchestra has mastered the art of intimate playing. Read story.

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Diving into ‘Mozart in Dance’

Santa Barbara Symphony and State Street Ballet to stage Mozart’s ‘Requiem.’ Read story.

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Camerata Pacifica Kicks Off New Season

Orchestra offered up Prokofiev and Shostakovich with aplomb. Read story.

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Bill Murray Is Unbelievable

Film star performs live with classical trio. Read story.

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Music Academy Finale Week Concerts

Seventieth anniversary season ends with an extraordinary week of shows. Read story.

Tuesday, August 8, 2017

‘The Elixir of Love’

Music Academy does Donizetti. Read story.

Tuesday, August 1, 2017

‘Appalachian Spring’: American’s ‘Ode to Joy’

Aaron Copland’s classic and a world premiere are on the evening’s slate at the Tue., Jul. 11 concert at the Lobero. Read story.

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Music Academy of the West’s World Premieres

The Festival Orchestra played reworked compositions by William Neil and Matthew Aucoin. Read story.

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Music Academy Festival Artists Series July 5 Concert

Caroline Shaw premieres along with works by Brahms, Francaix. Read story.

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

JACK Quartet with Joshua Roman, Vivaldi’s ‘Stabat Mater’


A world premiere and a rediscovered classic in two MAW concerts. Read story.

Thursday, July 6, 2017

Music Academy of the West Festival Orchestra

Fellows perform ‘Rite of Spring’ in first series performance. Read story.

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Music Academy of the West Concerts on June 20 and 22

A Jeremy Turner commission premiere and a recital by David Daniels. Read story.

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Music Academy of the West Season Preview

Seventy years, 10 composers, and one big mission. Read story.

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

2017 Ojai Music Festival

Music director Vijay Iyer embraces many forms. Read story.

Tuesday, June 13, 2017

Ensemble Theatre Offers Young Actors Conservatory

Marcus Giamatti to lead new actors training program. Read story.

Thursday, June 1, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: