WEATHER »

Classical Reviews

Music Academy Presents ‘The Marriage of Figaro’

Mozart opera flew by in a balanced and spirited flow of continuous creation. Read story.

Monday, August 6, 2018

2018 Ojai Music Festival

Music director Patricia Kopatchinskaja’s wildly inventive weekend Read story.

Thursday, June 14, 2018

Chirgilchin Bring Its Music to Santa Barbara

Master throat singers from the Russian Republic of Tuva performed at UCSB on May 18. Read story.

Friday, June 1, 2018

Opera Santa Barbara’s ‘Trouble in Tahiti’ and ‘Gallantry’

Two excellent short operas showcase studio artists. Read story.

Thursday, April 26, 2018

Mezzo-Soprano Joyce DiDonato Performs Recital at Granada

UCSB Arts and Lectures presented the Met Opera star on April 15. Read story.

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Sir András Schiff Explores Brahms

The Masterseries recitalist demonstrated a profound connection to the music. Read story.

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Josh Bell Plays with and Conducts Mendelssohn and Beethoven

The Academy of St Martin in the Fields orchestra gave a congenial performance last Wednesday at the hands — and bow — of Maestro Joshua Bell. Read story.

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Wu Man and the Huayin Shadow Puppet Band Delivered One Surprising Moment After Another

An uproarious night represented a distinctive achievement in the spread of traditional Chinese culture to the West. Read story.

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Pianist Peter Serkin Plays Mozart, Bach’s Goldbergs

The virtuoso delivered a superb concert for the CAMA Masterseries at the Lobero on Saturday, February 24 Read story.

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Westmont’s ‘Die Fledermaus’

Westmont brings bold approach to Johann Strauss II at the New Vic. Read story.

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Opera Santa Barbara Does Rossini’s ‘The Barber of Seville’

Opera Santa Barbara’s production of Rossini’s ‘The Barber of Seville’ emphasized outrageous behavior and disguises. Read story.

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment Delivers Thrilling Performance

Nicola Benedetti joins OAE for all-Beethoven program. Read story.

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Los Angeles Philharmonic Delivers the Goods

Joseph Pereira, the in-house percussionist for the L.A. Philharmonic, stole the show with semi-improvisational piece. Read story.

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

St. Louis Symphony Orchestra

St. Louis Symphony offered splendid Britten and Shostakovich to a weary city. Read story.

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

The Santa Barbara Symphony and Pablo Sáinz Villegas are Two Peas in a Classical Pod

The guitar virtuoso Pablo Sáinz Villegas is in residence. Read story.

Monday, November 20, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: