WEATHER »

Dance

Review: Body of Work at UCSB’s HSSB Ballet Studio Theatre

The longtime UCSB dance professor has created a solo show charting the trajectory of his more than 40 years in dance. Read story.

Tuesday, July 1, 2014

Amber Ryan to Lead Santa Barbara Dance Tribe

Amber Ryan will lead Dance Tribe on Sunday, June 29, and return for an intensive 5Rhythms workshop at Yoga Soup on Saturday, July 26. Read story.

Thursday, June 26, 2014

Summer Arts Preview: Dance

The theme for this year’s Solstice parade is “Games,” and the S.B. dance community is ready to play. Read story.

Thursday, June 19, 2014

Dance Companies Bring Back the Light

Fusion Dance Company and American Dance and Music offer weekend programs to reinforce our shared humanity. Read story.

Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Review: UCSB Dance Company at Center Stage Theater

This undergraduate troupe gave its final performance of the year on Thursday, May 29. Read story.

Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Dancing About Wine

State Street Ballet interprets AVA Santa Barbara and Pali Wine Co. in Funk Zone performance on May 29. Read story.

Thursday, May 22, 2014

UCSB Dance Company’s End-of-Year Show

Fresh out of a six-city tour of Italy and the Czech Republic, these 11 seniors will give it their all May 28 and 29 at Center Stage Theater. Read story.

Thursday, May 22, 2014

Library Dances Leaps into Action

In this new educational outreach program, high school students perform steps based on Shakespeare alongside professional dancers. Read story.

Thursday, May 22, 2014

Performing Arts Center Opens on Cota Street

May 22 marks the grand opening of Santa Barbara Dance Arts’ new home. Read story.

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Jerry Pearson Is Looking Back, Leaping Forward

The former Santa Barbara Dance Theater director presents this one-man career retrospective on Thursday, May 15. Read story.

Thursday, May 8, 2014

Review: Mark Dendy Projects at the Lobero Theatre

DANCEworks 2014 culminated with Dystopian Distractions!, a masterful blend of entertainment and social commentary. Read story.

Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Review: Abraham.in.Motion at UCSB’s Campbell Hall

UCSB Arts & Lectures brought the N.Y.C.-based company to Campbell Hall for two performances of Pavement. Read story.

Friday, April 25, 2014

A World Premiere at DANCEworks 2014

Choreographer Mark Dendy wraps up a month-long residency at the Lobero Theatre with Dystopian Distractions! Read story.

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Abraham.In.Motion Makes S.B. Debut

UCSB Arts & Lectures presents the NYC-based contemporary dance company in an evening-length work inspired by the 1991 film, Boyz n the Hood. Read story.

Thursday, April 17, 2014

The Trocks Return to Santa Barbara

UCSB Arts & Lectures brings New York’s beloved all-male ballet company back to town on Tuesday, April 8. Read story.

Thursday, April 3, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: