WEATHER »

Film

Backyard Shorts FilmFest

Film fest to showcase area filmmakers October 22 at The Hitchcock. Read story.

Monday, October 16, 2017

Reviewed: 'Blade Runner 2049'

The sequel presents a bleak vision of the future with a stunning command of space and scale. Read story.

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Reviewed: ‘Loving Vincent’

Film is an artistic masterpiece. Read story.

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Hollywood Berlin Film Series

UCSB’s Pollock Theater presents Germanic wit and splendor at the movies. Read story.

Thursday, October 5, 2017

Angelina Jolie on ‘First They Killed My Father’

The director talks about her Oscar-nominated film about Cambodia. Read story.

Thursday, October 5, 2017

Reviewed: ‘Django’

This biopic explores Django Reinhart’s life during the Nazi occupation of France. Read story.

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

‘The Big Sick’

Film is a huge step forward for diversity in Hollywood, and is all the funnier and more painful for the crossed wires of Pakistani and American cultures.
 Read story.

Saturday, September 23, 2017

‘Rumble: The Indians Who Rocked the World’

This fascinating documentary packs a lot of info, sobering sociocultural revelations, and stirring music into a revelatory two-hour journey.
 Read story.

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

‘Dolores’

The film gives valuable, equal time to Dolores Huerta, an undeservedly lesser-known but vitally important figure in the farmworker struggle and grape boycott. Read story.

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Riviera Theatre Reopens

SBIFF reveals new and improved cinema art house. Read story.

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

UCSB’s Documentary Film Program

Summer courses foster the next generation of environmental filmmakers. Read story.

Monday, August 21, 2017

The Deepest State

New documentary ‘Icarus’ exposes Russian sports doping scheme. Read story.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Community Film Studio Santa Barbara

‘Salsipuedes Street,’ CFSSB’s newest film, focuses on deportation and childhood resilience. Read story.

Wednesday, August 2, 2017

‘The Exception’

Even Christopher Plummer can’t save this film; check out reruns of Hogan’s Heroes instead. Read story.

Thursday, July 6, 2017

James Bond at the Sunken Gardens

UCSB’s Arts & Lectures brings the spy to its summer film series. Read story.

Wednesday, July 5, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: