WEATHER »

Film

UCSB’s Documentary Film Program

Summer courses foster the next generation of environmental filmmakers. Read story.

Monday, August 21, 2017

The Deepest State

New documentary ‘Icarus’ exposes Russian sports doping scheme. Read story.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Community Film Studio Santa Barbara

‘Salsipuedes Street,’ CFSSB’s newest film, focuses on deportation and childhood resilience. Read story.

Wednesday, August 2, 2017

‘The Exception’

Even Christopher Plummer can’t save this film; check out reruns of Hogan’s Heroes instead. Read story.

Thursday, July 6, 2017

James Bond at the Sunken Gardens

UCSB’s Arts & Lectures brings the spy to its summer film series. Read story.

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Backyard Shorts FilmFest

Submissions are being accepted through September 15. Read story.

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

It Comes At Night

Playing on fears, this survivalist horror flick is a surreal thought-provoker. Read story.

Tuesday, June 13, 2017

The Boatmaker Screens at S.B. Maritime Museum

Ken Minor will speak on his hand-built sailboat. Read story.

Tuesday, June 13, 2017

Megan Leavey

Kate Mara portrays a complex woman who refuses to give up. Read story.

Tuesday, June 13, 2017

‘Chuck’ Ain’t Requiem for a Heavyweight

Film captures wonderfully naturalistic gritty graininess of ’70s movies. Read story.

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

UCSB Script to Screen Presents La La Land

There’ll be a post-film discussion with Oscar-winning production designers David Wasco and Sandy Reynolds-Wasco. Read story.

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

“Alien: Covenant’

This prequel has nothing left to hide, but does offer legitimate spookiness. Read story.

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Pollock Theater Hosts Trans Media Series

The month-long program features transgender works. Read story.

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

‘Lost City of Z’ Is Subtly Powerful

The slow-paced thought-provoker examines Amazonian exploration. Read story.

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

‘Colossal’

Poignant film explores the nature of evil. Read story.

Monday, April 24, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: