WEATHER »

Film

Tomorrowland

Disney’s latest film makes an appeal for a better world. Read story.

Thursday, May 28, 2015

Poltergeist Reimagined

This remake isn’t scarier nor does it delve into new territory. Read story.

Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Far from the Madding Crowd

This retelling of Thomas Hardy’s novel maintains the pastoral gentility of the genre without drowning it in sappy sentiment. Read story.

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Mad Max: Fury Road

Director George Miller blends the truly hideous with the spectacularly beautiful in this fourth installment. Read story.

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Hot Pursuit Is a Cold Fish

Reese Witherspoon and Sofía Vergara star in this cliché odd-couple buddy flick trying to be The Heat Read story.

Thursday, May 14, 2015

The D Train

Jack Black, James Marsden, and Kathryn Hahn star in this dark-hearted film. Read story.

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Avengers: Age of Ultron Reviewed

As this sequel makes abundantly clear, Joss Whedon may not be the shepherd Marvel wants to lead the fanboy flock. Read story.

Thursday, May 7, 2015

Félix and Meira Reviewed

A Hasidic married woman’s world unravels when she meets a single secular man Read story.

Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Film: The Age of Adaline

Blake Lively stars in this lovely, thoughtful romantic drama. Read story.

Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Film: Ex Machina

Domhnall Gleeson and Oscar Isaac star in a slow, weird, beautiful movie about god, humanity, and machinery. Read story.

Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Review: True Story

Jonah Hill and James Franco star in a crime thriller based on the memoir of former New York Times reporter Michael Finkel. Read story.

Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Review: Clouds of Sils Maria

Juliette Binoche and Kristen Stewart star in this Palme d’Or-nominated film that explores power and vulnerability. Read story.

Monday, April 20, 2015

Film Review: The Longest Ride

Scott Eastwood and Britt Robertson seem more petulant than wounded in this adaptation of the Nicholas Sparks novel. Read story.

Wednesday, April 15, 2015

Film Review: Wild Tales

Wild Tales is fun and half-great but nowhere near profound. Read story.

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Review: Furious 7

film is redeemed in a finale that makes the whole series seem romantic. Read story.

Tuesday, April 7, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: