WEATHER »

Film

SBIFF 2018 Virtuosos Honorees Announced

Lineup includes Gal Gadot, Timothée Chalamet, Kumail Nanjiani, and John Boyega Read story.

Wednesday, December 6, 2017

‘Godless’ Considers Little-Tapped Possibilities in Western Narrative

Scott Frank’s seven-episode series lures viewers into terrain both familiar and fresh. Read story.

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

‘The Breadwinner’ Is Anguished and Charming Film About Life Under Taliban Rule

Hardships are laid out in a tapestry of sweet, fable-like storytelling and the harsh realities of the day. Read story.

Tuesday, November 28, 2017

‘Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri’ Is Year’s Best Film

With astute insights, incredible cinematography, and a powerhouse performance, the film is sure to be in line for an Oscar. Read story.

Tuesday, November 28, 2017

Davey’s Voice Film Festival

Entries wanted for the nonprofit’s inaugural fundraising event taking place January 2018. Read story.

Monday, November 20, 2017

Reviewed | ‘BPM (Beats per Minute)’

Film conveys a historical slice of life in the AIDS struggle with a strong, supple cinematic voice. Read story.

Friday, November 17, 2017

Reviewed | ‘Murder on the Orient Express’

Kenneth Branagh’s film isn’t a nuanced character drama, but offers a fun puzzle for Agatha Christie fans. Read story.

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Reviewed | ‘Wonderstruck’

The plot moves along so slowly that it is difficult to feel any connection to the subjects. Read story.

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Willem Dafoe to Be Honored at 2018’s Santa Barbara International Film Festival

Actor to receive Cinema Vanguard Award on Thursday, February 1, 2018. Read story.

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Reviewed | ‘The Killing of a Sacred Deer’

The film plays out with the inevitability and perversity of a classical tragedy. Read story.

Monday, November 13, 2017

‘The Square’

The illuminating, sly, and beautifully made film is a must-see in S.B.'s suddenly busy art-house scene. Read story.

Friday, November 10, 2017

‘Goodbye Christopher Robin’ Captures A.A. Milne’s Emotional Damage

There are tender moments of father-son bonding, but this film is really about absentee-parenting, emotional manipulation, and the exploitation of a boy’s childhood. Read story.

Thursday, November 9, 2017

Reviewed: ‘The Snowman’

Almost comically hyper-efficient detective hunt feels like a 10-episode series that was cut down to two hours. Read story.

Thursday, October 26, 2017

Reviewed | 'The Florida Project'

Director Sean Baker’s slice-of-life film focuses on poverty in the U.S. Read story.

Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Backyard Shorts FilmFest

Film fest to showcase area filmmakers October 22 at The Hitchcock. Read story.

Monday, October 16, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: