WEATHER »

Film

Summertime and the TV Is Easy

Here’s a roundup of this summer’s upcoming televisual thrills. Read story.

Thursday, June 16, 2016

‘Roots’ Remake

Forty years after the original series, the epic story of Kunta Kinte returns to TV. Read story.

Wednesday, June 8, 2016

SBIFF Launches Riviera Showcases with 'Weiner'

In its new home, cinephiles can see indie films Sunday-Wednesday. Read story.

Thursday, June 2, 2016

‘Baskets’ is Best-Kept Secret on Television

Written by the dark comedy trifecta of Louis C.K., Zach Galifianakis, and Jonathan Krisel, the show is both bumbling and brilliant. Read story.

Thursday, May 26, 2016

‘The Darkness’ Rides a Scary-Movie Renaissance

Bloodletting and bad taste make up today’s film noir. Read story.

Thursday, May 19, 2016

Script to Screen: ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’

UCSB’s Pollock Theater presents a conversation with ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ editor Maryann Brandon. Read story.

Thursday, May 12, 2016

SBIFF’s The Wave Film Festival

Pacific Rim cinematic fare May 11-15 at the Riviera. Read story.

Thursday, May 5, 2016

Film Fest’s Riviera Dream Comes True

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival is taking over the historic theater for the next 30 years. Read story.

Thursday, April 28, 2016

I.V. Hosts First-Ever Film Festival

Founders call the horror-bent festival “a little bit twisted, a little bit fun.” Read story.

Wednesday, April 27, 2016

A&L Presents Art on Film

Screen series captures the lives and works of four groundbreaking visual artists. Read story.

Thursday, April 21, 2016

Pollock Theater’s Script to Screen Hosted ‘Jaws’

Screenwriter Carl Gottlieb shares biting anecdotes. Read story.

Monday, April 18, 2016

Hank, Chet, and Miles Hit the Screen

Hollywood takes on three iconic American musical legends. Read story.

Thursday, April 14, 2016

‘Batman v. Superman’

Why are superheroes fighting one another? Read story.

Thursday, March 31, 2016

‘Embrace of the Serpent’ Infiltrates Your Dreams

Columbian Director Ciro Guerra has a vision to impart in this slow, black-and white-tour of the Amazon River basin. Read story.

Wednesday, March 16, 2016

Santa Barbara Jewish Film Festival

Ten programs of features, shorts, and documentaries showcased March 19-22. Read story.

Tuesday, March 15, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: