WEATHER »

Film Previews

Three New Series to Watch this November

Homecoming, My Brilliant Friend, and The Little Drummer Girl Read story.

Thursday, October 25, 2018

Pollock Theater Presents ‘Frankenstein’: Afterlives

UCSB’s Carsey-Wolf Center pays homage to Mary Shelley’s monster. Read story.

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Call to Action Film Festival

SBIFF showcases a social, environmental, and political slate of docs, as well as community-engaging panel discussions with artists and community leaders. Read story.

Thursday, September 27, 2018

‘On the Edge of a Dream’ Premieres in Santa Barbara

Documentary chronicles surfing legend George Greenough’s pursuit of hydrodynamic nirvana. Read story.

Thursday, September 20, 2018

Mountainfilm Festival Comes to Ojai

World-class nature documentaries screen under the stars. Read story.

Wednesday, September 12, 2018

'Love and Bananas: An Elephant Story'

Ashley Bell’s documentary exposes plight of Asian pachyderms. Read story.

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

Asian American Film Series at the Alhecama

Features and documentaries screen each Friday in July. Read story.

Sunday, July 1, 2018

NatureTrack Film Festival Makes Its Debut

Los Olivos hosts the three-day celebration of the outdoors. Read story.

Thursday, March 22, 2018

Pollock Theater Screens ‘Gabriel over the White House’

Bizarre 1933 film offers up a ‘benevolent fascist’ fantasy. Read story.

Thursday, February 22, 2018

Davey’s Voice Film Festival

Entries wanted for the nonprofit’s inaugural fundraising event taking place January 2018. Read story.

Monday, November 20, 2017

James Bond at the Sunken Gardens

UCSB’s Arts & Lectures brings the spy to its summer film series. Read story.

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Backyard Shorts FilmFest

Submissions are being accepted through September 15. Read story.

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

UCSB Script to Screen Presents La La Land

There’ll be a post-film discussion with Oscar-winning production designers David Wasco and Sandy Reynolds-Wasco. Read story.

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

‘Fishpeople’ Film Gets S.B. Premiere

Keith Malloy’s sophomore effort is visually arresting and inspirational. Read story.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Second Annual Santa Barbara Jewish Film Festival

This year’s roster features 13 films about Jewish culture from around the world. Read story.

Thursday, March 23, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: