WEATHER »

Film Reviews

‘Rock the Kasbah’ Doesn’t Deliver

Director Barry Levinson’s latest film gets lost in Afghani desert sands. Read story.

Tuesday, October 27, 2015

‘Sicario’: An Intense and Artful Critique on Drug War

Director Denis Villenueve crafts a powerful sociopolitical thriller. Read story.

Thursday, October 22, 2015

‘Bridge of Spies’

There is no shiver in Steven Spielberg’s version of Cold War legal life. Read story.

Wednesday, October 21, 2015

‘Pan’: Weird and Fun

Director Joe Wright takes viewers to the edge of frustration and then exhilarates. It’s weird and then fun. Read story.

Thursday, October 15, 2015

‘The New Girlfriend’ a Delightful Love Story

This new French film bends gender and friend roles. Read story.

Wednesday, October 14, 2015

‘The Experimenter’ Show Mindless Obedience is Still with Us

Peter Sarsgaard stars as psychologist Stanley Milgram, who conducted experiments on cruelty. Read story.

Monday, October 12, 2015

‘The Walk’ Has High Spirits

New Zemeckis film celebrates Philippe Petit and dream fulfillment. Read story.

Thursday, October 8, 2015

‘The Martian’ Takes Place on Never-Dull Planes

Matt Damon stars in Ridley Scott’s thought-provoking space drama. Read story.

Wednesday, October 7, 2015

The Factory-Made Action of 'Everest'

The retelling of the 1996 Everest disaster is serviceable but not deep. Read story.

Thursday, October 1, 2015

Fishing for More in 'Pawn Sacrifice'

The biopic of a bratty Bobby Fischer falls short on compelling substance. Read story.

Wednesday, September 30, 2015

‘Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials’ Is Beautiful Chaos

Full-blown wars and lightning bolts more than compensate for forsaking the author’s intentions or fan expectations. Read story.

Wednesday, September 23, 2015

‘Black Mass’ Reveals Whitey Bulger's Black Heart

Crime drama centers on legendary killer's individual evil but simplifies FBI involvement. Read story.

Tuesday, September 22, 2015

‘The Second Mother’'s Dramatic Domesticity

Regina Casé wows as maid in Brazilian film, ‘The Second Mother’ Read story.

Monday, September 21, 2015

‘Grandma’ Is a Triumph

Lily Tomlin gives passionate performance in this film that sweeps across the history of women’s struggles in the last half-century. Read story.

Friday, September 18, 2015

‘The Visit’ Is M. Night Shyamalan’s Assertive Comeback

This film seduces us with an audacious blend of comedy and terror. Read story.

Thursday, September 17, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: