WEATHER »

Fringe Beat

Musical Mishmash

Katy Perry rocks the Bowl, Music Academy of the West's hot season, and Jeff Bridges' new alt-country album. Read story.

Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Mariachis and Country Music

Trace Adkins and Clay Walker are both playing the Ventura County Fair this summer. Read story.

Friday, August 5, 2011

DeRose and Other Jazzy Delights

Stanford has a jazz festival, and the Lobero has announced its Jazz series season. Read story.

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Dena DeRose Sings at SOhO

Jazz on the horizon, plus classically-minded metal from Liturgy at Muddy Waters. Read story.

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Greetings from Kongsberg

Norway is the preferred destination for lovers of fringe jazz this month. Read story.

Friday, July 15, 2011

Music Academy by Moonlight

The season is on at the Music Academy; contemporary jazz is off the schedule at UCSB’s Arts and Lectures next year. Read story.

Tuesday, July 5, 2011

Montreal Jazz Fest Report

From Prince and Esperanza to Brad Mehldau and Marc Ribot, the Montreal Jazz Fest keeps the musical goodness flowing, sometimes even freely. Read story.

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Music Academy of the West Season Opens

Gonzalo Rubalcaba and Craig Taborn have both released intriguing new jazz keyboard CDs. Read story.

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Live Oak Round Up, Ojai Look Back

Live Oak Music Festival boasts a strong lineup this year that includes Mavis Staples, Toots and the Maytals, and the Texas Tornadoes. Read story.

Friday, June 17, 2011

Ojai Legends and Legacies

Jazz composer and bandleader Marie Schneider brings her hand and her band to the 65th Ojai Festival’s programming mix. Read story.

Thursday, June 9, 2011

Victoriaville Heroes

Anthony Braxton and Peter Brotzmann were celebrated at this year’s festival in Victoriaville. Read story.

Saturday, May 28, 2011

Something New

The wealth of new classical music this spring is a glorious earful. Read story.

Friday, May 13, 2011

Ruo, Koh, and Other Delights

The Santa Barbara Symphony and Camerata Pacifica embrace the work of living composers. Read story.

Thursday, May 12, 2011

Too Short at the Fair

Of course, we all have the late, great “outsider art” hero Henry Darger on the brain this week, given that the prized indie-punkstress band Vivian Girls landed at Muddy Waters on Monday. Read story.

Thursday, May 5, 2011

Vossa Jazz

The ECM stable was well represented at the 2011 edition of the Vossa Jazz Festival in Norway. Read story.

Tuesday, April 26, 2011
event calendar sponsored by: