WEATHER »

Jazz

Fringe Beat

Choral music of many centuries will be performed all over town this week. Read story.

Friday, March 2, 2012

Jazz Violinist Regina Carter

Jazz violinist and MacArthur grant recipient Regina Carter will perform with her group Reverse Thread at the Lobero Theatre on Friday, February 24. Read story.

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

NAMM Time, Plus Upcoming Jazz

The annual music convention known as NAMM could have been renamed “iNAMM” this year after all the Apple-friendly products on display. Read story.

Thursday, February 16, 2012

Preservation Hall Jazz Band

As the new documentary about the Preservation Hall Jazz Band screens at the Film Festival, the live band will hit the stage at UCSB. Read story.

Monday, January 30, 2012

Did You Ever Miss New Orleans?

Two Events Bring the Big Easy to UCSB. Read story.

Monday, January 16, 2012

Berlin Enchantment

Fringe Beat ranges worldwide this week, in search of authentic experiences of the architectural and musical kinds. Read story.

Monday, December 5, 2011

New Noise and Sings Like Hell

New Noise takes over downtown while Hell raises itself at the Lobero. Read story.

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Gary Burton New Quartet at the Lobero Theatre

The Gary Burton New Quartet opened the Jazz at the Lobero series with a brilliant and satisfying mix of the familiar and the fresh. Read story.

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Where the World and the ‘Hood Connect

Santa Barbara imports and sometimes exports some of the world’s most eclectic music. Read story.

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Trombone Shorty and Orleans Avenue

The first concert in UCSB Arts & Lectures’ Music of New Orleans series features Troy Andrews, better known as Trombone Shorty, with Orleans Avenue on Friday, October 7. Read story.

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Grounds for Jazz Uplift

Josef Woodard ventures up the Coast for one of the world’s premiere and most highly anticipated jazz festivals. Read story.

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Guelph Jazz Festival

The Guelph Jazz Festival is going strong on the fringe element, while Monterey is coming up this weekend. Read story.

Friday, September 16, 2011

Marcus Miller, Theo Saunders

Marcus Miller’s new album is his best, and pianist Theo Saunders, late of the 805, also has a new one. Read story.

Friday, August 26, 2011

Duke, Miller, and Sanborn Are DMS

Marcus Miller, the bass player in DMS, talks about his career and current tour. Read story.

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Getting to Know Musician Jonathan McEuen

From the stage to the studio, and “white man’s jazz” Read story.

Saturday, August 20, 2011
event calendar sponsored by: