WEATHER »

Jazz Previews

Karl Denson Expands His Funk-Soul Universe

SoCal saxophonist’s septet returns to SOhO. Read story.

Tuesday, August 21, 2018

Q&A with Arlo Guthrie

The legendary folk singer visits the Lobero Theatre. Read story.

Thursday, April 6, 2017

Lucidity Evolves In Year Six

Eudaimonia celebrates collective experience. Read story.

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Killer Kaya Plays Starry Nites, Velvet Jones

The six-piece shines with its kaleidoscopic psychedelia. Read story.

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Rita Wilson Hosts Liner Notes

The singer/actor will talk to hit songwriters at Granada Theatre. Read story.

Thursday, March 9, 2017

Interview with Lukas Nelson

Promise of the Real frontman talks “masterpiece” new album and the S.B. Jazz Fest. Read story.

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Santa Barbara Jazz Fest Spices Up Weekend

Karl Denson’s Tiny Universe, a second-line procession, and a Hurricane Katrina documentary are just part of the festivities. Read story.

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Notes for Notes Teaches Black History with Music

Blues and jazz serve as educational tools for the teen band the Jazz Villains. Read story.

Thursday, February 23, 2017

Folk Orchestra of Santa Barbara's Big Sound (and Big Dreams)

“Go big or go home” is the motto for this 27-musician ensemble. Read story.

Thursday, February 23, 2017

Hanni El Khatib to Rock SOhO Authentically

The DIY skateboard lifestyle rocker wears his heart on lyrical sleeves. Read story.

Thursday, February 23, 2017

‘Colors of Love’ Brightens Center Stage

The social dance showcase will feature Latin jazz, samba, and tango numbers. Read story.

Thursday, February 9, 2017

Gregory Porter Comes to Santa Barbara

The Grammy-winning jazz vocalist plays the Granada on January 24. Read story.

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Looking on the Bright Side with Luis Muñoz

The S.B. jazz artist caps off a successful year with awards and looks ahead with new works. Read story.

Thursday, January 5, 2017

Charles Lloyd & the Marvels and Lucinda Williams

The improvisational jazz artist plays with special guests at the Lobero. Read story.

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Celebrating Joni Mitchell

Kimberly Ford’s journey to Joni. Read story.

Thursday, November 3, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: