WEATHER »

Positively State Street

Get Ready to Rock at Seven Bar & Kitchen

R. Stevie Moore and LAKE play the Biko Co-op Garage on February 28. Read story.

Thursday, February 28, 2013

Getting to Know In the Valley Below

This week also brings Espers frontwoman Meg Baird to the Biko Co-op Garage. Read story.

Thursday, February 14, 2013

The Genius of Father John Misty

Holly Williams self-releases a new record with a little help from her friends. Read story.

Thursday, January 31, 2013

For Big Black Delta, Sky’s the Limit

Former Mellowdrone frontman tackles the electro rock world; State Street’s favorite rock club throws a big-deal birthday party. Read story.

Thursday, December 20, 2012

The California Honeydrops Go Live!

This week’s live music highlights include J.D. McPherson, Garland Jeffries, and the return of Portland experimentalists Hosannas. Read story.

Thursday, December 6, 2012

Music Scene Math: From Electro-Spazz to Kickstarter

To Kickstarter or not to Kickstarter? We take a look at a few acts who are taking to the web to fund new projects. Read story.

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

The Best of the Fest: New Noise 2012

The local lovin’ was in full force throughout last weekend’s action-packed New Noise Music Conference & Festival. Read story.

Thursday, November 15, 2012

Other Lives, Lindsey Stirling Bring the Strings

We’re pre-gaming this year’s New Noise Music Festival and Conference with two can’t-miss shows at SOhO. Read story.

Thursday, November 1, 2012

Getting to Know Bosnian Rainbows

Le Butcherettes Teri Gender Bender Contributes vocals to new act. Read story.

Thursday, October 25, 2012

Downtown Sound Heads to the Finals

Broken Machine, Freakin’ on Speakers, Jake Jeanson, and The Mutineers will compete in the final round of our battle of the bands this Thursday, October 18 at SOhO Restaurant & Music Club. Read story.

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Downtown Sound Goes Live

The semi-finals of our annual battle of the bands takes place this Thursday, October 11 and Saturday, October 13 at SOhO Restaurant & Music Club Read story.

Thursday, October 11, 2012

Sean Hayes

The San Francisco singer-songwriter plays SOhO Restaurant & Music Club on Friday, October 12. Read story.

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

The Wombats Dive In

This week’s concert highlights include Brit pop-rockers The Wombats, neo folkies The Lumineers, and the first night of our Downtown Sound battle of the bands semifinals. Read story.

Thursday, October 4, 2012

Last Call for Downtown Sound’s Online Voting Round

This week in live music, the Mad Caddies make a big return to Velvet Jones. Read story.

Thursday, September 20, 2012

Downtown Sound Urges You to Rock the Vote

It’s time to get your vote on. This week, we open the polls for you to tell us who’s your favorite Santa Barbara band. Read story.

Thursday, September 13, 2012