WEATHER »

Visual Arts

'Swimming: The Work of Lorien Stern'

The wall-spanning show is a delightfully intriguing magnum opus of ceramic construction. Read story.

Thursday, February 16, 2017

David Wiesner at SBMA

His impressive new exhibit shows ‘Wordless Storytelling’ through timeless images. Read story.

Thursday, February 9, 2017

‘Puccinality’ at UCSB College of Creative Studies

‘The Handmade Life of Fran and Keith Puccinelli’ Read story.

Thursday, February 2, 2017

Wildling Museum Photo Competition

‘Trees’ is this year’s theme, with submissions due May 1. Read story.

Friday, January 27, 2017

Maya Lin Talks Art and Architecture

Designer of the Vietnam Veterans Memorial comes to Santa Barbara January 30. Read story.

Thursday, January 26, 2017

Burnish at SBCAST

Mark-David Hosale and Erika Batdorf bring interactive art from Toronto. Read story.

Tuesday, December 27, 2016

Holiday Art Shows

Check out these Funk Zone and Arts District happenings in December. Read story.

Thursday, December 8, 2016

'Herd Around the World' at SBCAST

RT Livingston’s underground network of reality seekers. Read story.

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Dug Uyesaka at Westmont

Uyesaka’s ‘long story short’ epitomizes contemporary American art. Read story.

Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Nat Geo’s Brian Skerry Commitment to Save the Seas

Underwater photographer presents his multimedia talk ‘Ocean Wild: The Light Beneath the Seas’ November 20. Read story.

Thursday, November 17, 2016

Why Art Is Important

SBHS’s VADA hosts community panel discussion on the arts’ role in innovation and social change. Read story.

Thursday, November 10, 2016

Altar Artist Danny Gonzalez Discusses Cultural Significance Behind His Works

Altar artist Danny Gonzalez discusses the cultural significance of his works on display at the Bowl. Read story.

Thursday, November 3, 2016

Q.T. Luong to Speak on Photographic Odyssey

National Parks photographer will give a free talk on his new book, Treasured Lands. Read story.

Thursday, October 27, 2016

The Photographer of Protest

Photographer Nell Campbell Captures a Half Century of Political Protest Read story.

Thursday, October 27, 2016

‘The Art of Santa Barbara, 1875-2016’

Sullivan Goss unveils part one of a major survey Read story.

Tuesday, October 25, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: