WEATHER »

Visual Arts

‘Then they form us’ at MCASB

Group show examines the impact of digital technology. Read story.

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

Mitch Dobrowner’s ‘Nahasdzaan’ at Wall Space Gallery through August 30

Epic black-and-white landscape photos of the desert Southwest. Read story.

Originally published 12:00 a.m., August 20, 2015
Updated 9:23 a.m., August 24, 2015

Yara El-Sherbini’s 'Border Control'

MCASB Bloom Projects features Yara El-Sherbini. Read story.

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Two New Galleries on Gray

Gallerie Silo and GraySpace gallery open in the Funk Zone. Read story.

Wednesday, August 5, 2015

The Visual Indoctrination of the Bigot, an Interactive Look at Modern Prejudice

Jennifer Johns uses visuals to tackle disturbing subjects in an effort to surmount the ignorance that often surrounds social issues. Read story.

Wednesday, July 29, 2015

Review: The Paintings of Moholy-Nagy: The Shape of Things to Come

The Santa Barbara Museum of Art shines a light on the Hungarian artist’s postmodern abstract paintings. Read story.

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

CA Cool at Sullivan Goss

Californian-made art from the 1950s to today hang on the gallery’s walls until September 27. Read story.

Wednesday, July 8, 2015

Review: Herbert Bayer Photomontages at SBMA

The Visionary Photomontages of Herbert Bayer, 1929-1936 at SBMA. Read story.

Wednesday, July 1, 2015

Graduating Students Create Funk Zone Murals

Project spearheaded by Santa Barbara High School's Visual Arts & Design Academy. Read story.

Thursday, June 25, 2015

Summer Arts Preview: Visual Art

Past, present, and future collide in S.B. museums this summer. Read story.

Thursday, June 18, 2015

Review: Aquatic at the Santa Barbara Tennis Club

Artists compete to capture the essence of water. Read story.

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Ray Strong: Beyond Santa Barbara

SBMA encourages visitors to draw in the galleries. Read story.

Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Space Oddity at wall space gallery

Four contemporary artists approach photographing space and space exploration in radically different ways. Read story.

Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Review: The Declarations of Independents

Sullivan and Goss’s group show focuses on women of modernism. Read story.

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Art Seen: Funk Zone May Sightings

Arts Fund and MichaelKate hang new shows for the month of May. Read story.

Thursday, May 7, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: