WEATHER »

Visual Arts

An Art Revival on State Street

Santa Barbara artists have installed their work along downtown corridor. Read story.

Thursday, April 5, 2018

Yumiko Glover’s Paintings Examine Japanese History, Youth Culture, Technology

The artist’s relationship to her war-ravaged hometown of Hiroshima and larger Japanese culture is central to her work. Read story.

Wednesday, April 4, 2018

Karina Sanchez Adds Color to Buellton Barn

Artist paints an American flag on a farm outbuilding. Read story.

Tuesday, April 3, 2018

Mural Submissions Wanted

The Granada Theatre puts out a call for artists to paint passageway. Read story.

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Linda Stein Sculpture

Body armor for 21st-century Amazons Read story.

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

'Black Art Now' Creates Space for Black Artists in Santa Barbara

Santa Barbara Young Black Professionals hosted an art pop-up in Paseo Nuevo. Read story.

Thursday, March 8, 2018

Art Exhibits Focus on Santa Barbara Japanese Internment During WWII

The shows remind us that history is continuous and that the arcs of multi-decade or multi-century narratives must constantly be illuminated. Read story.

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

‘Herself: Girlhood in Stop Motion Film’

SBCC exhibit documents five recent productions. Read story.

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

‘Brought to Light: Revelatory Photographs’ on Exhibit at SBMA

The show features more than 60 works of recent acquisitions and institutional favorites that together emphasize a range of photographic practices, from gelatin silver to inkjet prints. Read story.

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

‘Cecily Brown: Rehearsal’

Drawings at MCASB invite multiple visits. Read story.

Thursday, February 8, 2018

Painting the Santa Ynez River

Six area artists use the gouache style to capture the 92-mile waterway from origin to outlet. Read story.

Thursday, February 8, 2018

Dane Goodman, Master Artist

Focus on the Masters selects well-known Santa Barbaran for documentation in 2018. Read story.

Thursday, February 1, 2018

'100 Grand' at Sullivan Goss

Celebratory annual exhibition in its ninth year Read story.

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Thomas Fire Benefit Auction Opens Saturday

Bidding runs through January on donated artwork with all proceeds going to families affected by the fire. Read story.

Thursday, January 4, 2018

Narrative Paintings in Asian Art at the SBMA

“Story-Telling” examines multiple strategies for visual narrative. Read story.

Wednesday, January 3, 2018
event calendar sponsored by: