WEATHER »

Visual Arts

Review: The Declarations of Independents

Sullivan and Goss’s group show focuses on women of modernism. Read story.

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Art Seen: Funk Zone May Sightings

Arts Fund and MichaelKate hang new shows for the month of May. Read story.

Thursday, May 7, 2015

Art: Animals … Inside Out

The Santa Barbara Zoo exhibits X-ray images of its critters. Read story.

Thursday, April 30, 2015

Teen Paranormal Romance at MCASB

Contemporary Artists Probe Teen Pop Culture Read story.

Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Summer Camp Coloring Contest

Enter The Independent Coloring Contest! Send us a colored-in drawing from our Summer Camp Guide by Thursday, April 16, to be in the running! Read story.

Friday, April 10, 2015

Review: Arts Fund Sculpture Survey

Eight Artists Explore Another Dimension Read story.

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

Welcome to The Cuyama Valley

Montecito’s Easton Gallery celebrates 25 years with a new group show. Read story.

Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Gil Shaham Tackles Bach’s Six Solos for Violin

The acclaimed violinist goes solo at the Granada Theatre with the help of filmmaker David Michalek. Read story.

Thursday, March 26, 2015

Review: Bootsy Holler: Nuclear Family

This photo series discloses some serious family secrets. Read story.

Monday, March 23, 2015

Photog Richard Salas Takes Us On an Underwater Adventure

The Brooks Institute alum is opening a three-gallery art show to celebrate the completion of a trilogy of underwater photography books. Read story.

Thursday, March 19, 2015

Art on Wheels Paints Santa Barbara Wine Country

Christi Schaeffer’s mobile painting party teaches landscape techniques to all levels. Read story.

Wednesday, March 18, 2015

Review: Magic Mountain at Hotel Indigo

Healing and transformative experiences provide the launching pad for this group show. Read story.

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Review: Missing Rib at SBCC’s Atkinson Gallery

Santa Barbara City College’s Atkinson Gallery hosts the multimedia work of this rising star. Read story.

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Colm Tóibín Reimagines the Virgin Mary

The Testament of Mary author will appear at the Santa Barbara Museum of Art on Thursday, March 12. Read story.

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Review: Made You Look at GONE Gallery

This street-art-inspired group show is proving that the old Funk Zone isn’t dead yet. Read story.

Wednesday, March 11, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: