WEATHER »

Visual Arts

Review: Made You Look at GONE Gallery

This street-art-inspired group show is proving that the old Funk Zone isn’t dead yet. Read story.

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Review: RESCUE at UCSB’s Red Barn

Artists from Rotterdam invade the Red Barn Project Space through March 11. Read story.

Friday, March 6, 2015

Why We’re Flocking to Lotusland

The famed Montecito estate hosts a contemporary art exhibit about birds. Read story.

Thursday, March 5, 2015

A Rain Dance for VADA

Santa Barbara High’s Visual Arts & Design Academy hosts a fundraiser on February 28. Read story.

Thursday, February 26, 2015

Inside the Tiny House Project

Artists Chris Silva and Karly Williams plan a permanent honeymoon. Read story.

Thursday, February 19, 2015

Italian Renaissance Comes to Santa Barbara

Botticelli, Titian, and Bellini are among the masters represented in this important exhibition of Italian art from the Glasgow Museums collection. Read story.

Thursday, February 12, 2015

Review: Out of the Great Wide Open at MCASB

The 8th annual Call for Entries exhibit showcases a wide breadth of exciting work from the tri-counties. Read story.

Tuesday, February 3, 2015

Review: Valley of the Deer: Jillian McDonald at SBCC

The new installation at SBCC’s Atkinson Gallery was inspired by horror movies. Read story.

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Review: Under the Umbrella at the Santa Barbara Historical Museum

The Santa Barbara Historical Museum pays tribute to Riggs with photos, drawings, and balsa-wood architectural models. Read story.

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Funky Printers

Great printmaking is at the heart of any healthy art scene. Read story.

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Wild Spirit: Horses in Art

Wildling Museum and Return to Freedom present works from historic and contemporary Santa Barbara artists. Read story.

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Shamanic Art from China and Vietnam

This important collection illuminates the spiritual life of ethnic minorities in northern Vietnam and southern China. Read story.

Thursday, January 8, 2015

Review: Chakaia Booker at the Westmont Ridley-Tree Museum

The prints and sculptures in this West Coast debut show Chakaia Booker's fluent command in multiple media. Read story.

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Art Museum Plans Renovation

The $50 million project will add new gallery space and a rooftop garden. Read story.

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Holidays in Color

From UCSB to the Funk Zone, there’s every kind of art available in Santa Barbara during the holiday season. Read story.

Wednesday, December 10, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: