WEATHER »

Visual Arts

Delacroix: The Painter of Modern History

A Swiss estate in Montecito yields an art-historical discovery of international importance. Read story.

Thursday, November 14, 2013

John Divola’s Photography

The pioneering Southern California artist/photographer John Divola gets a well-deserved multi-museum show. Read story.

Thursday, October 31, 2013

Mike Nichols Talks Lions, Elephants & Giants

The famed Nat Geo photographer will bring still and moving images to the Marjorie Luke on October 27. Read story.

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Art Seen: Solar Metropolis

From black-and-white to brilliant color, painting remains at the core of the Santa Barbara art scene. Read story.

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Fresh Photos Take On Abstraction

Kim Kauffman and Victoria Mara Heilweil rep the non-representational movement in contemporary photography in a show that’s on view through October 27. Read story.

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Review: Tonalism Then and Now at Sullivan Goss

Tonalism, a late-19th-century approach to landscape painting, is experiencing a resurgence. Read story.

Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Art Seen: Thrift-Shop Art

Recent MFAs are finding unusual ways to foster an art community. Read story.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Graphic Artist Michael Schwab to Speak in Santa Barbara

The famed illustrator and graphic artist will speak about his career on Wednesday, September 25 at the Balboa Building. Read story.

Thursday, September 19, 2013

Fall Arts Preview: Visual Art

New discoveries await as the visual art season kicks into gear. Read story.

Thursday, September 19, 2013

The Rise of DNA

Meet Derren and Ana Ohanian, the driving force behind Santa Barbara creative collective DNA Imagery. Read story.

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Review: Invisible Realms

Thirteen artists who engage the sacred through indirection. Read story.

Monday, September 9, 2013

Abstract Landscape

Three painters take landscape into the abstract zone. Read story.

Thursday, September 5, 2013

Art Show to Benefit Gaviota Coast

SCAPE artists will be featured alongside photographer Shaw Leonard as part of this special First Thursday benefit show. Read story.

Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Wildling Reopens in Solvang

A new, expanded Wildling Museum has opened on Mission Drive in the heart of Solvang. Read story.

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Youth Interactive to Debut Mural

Nathalie Gensac’s Funk Zone nonprofit will debut its first big project on August 24 at 2 p.m. Read story.

Wednesday, August 21, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: