WEATHER »

Visual Arts

Santa Barbara Artists Open Their Doors

The annual Open Studio Tour takes place citywide this Saturday, August 24, and Sunday, August 25. Read story.

Tuesday, August 20, 2013

Review: Great Friends at Mertens Fine Art

Aris Demetrios has shared his lifelong love of making 3-D art in a new way by helping Bob Emmons realize his dream. Read story.

Tuesday, August 20, 2013

DNA Imagery Hosts Hautebox III

Photographers, models, stylists, makeup artists, and fashion lovers come together for Youth Interactive. Read story.

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

Witness: The Power of a Picture Received Emmy Nom

The Vietnam War is examined through the iconic “Napalm Girl” image in this captivating documentary. Read story.

Thursday, August 8, 2013

Cubist Cowboy

Channing Peake’s friendship with Picasso is the subject of a new exhibition at UCSB’s Art, Design & Architecture Museum Read story.

Thursday, August 8, 2013

Call for Artists: Neighborhood Mural Project

The corner of De la Vina and Cottage Grove streets will be the home of the winning design. Read story.

Wednesday, August 7, 2013

Grayson Perry

British artist Grayson Perry gave an inspiring talk at the Santa Barbara Museum of Art on Sunday, July 28. Read story.

Wednesday, July 31, 2013

Sketchbook Traveling

Steven and Sara Peterman’s art project on wheels rolls through Santa Barbara on August 1. Read story.

Tuesday, July 30, 2013

Review: Dasha Shishkin, erry icket

The meaning of these improbable and often shocking images is very much in the eye of the beholder. Read story.

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Review: In the Big Room at MichaelKate

The 22 artists in this group show represent the eclecticism and breadth of the Santa Barbara art scene. Read story.

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Sullivan Goss Unveils New Amos Kennedy Exhibit

These striking letterpress prints will be on view at Sullivan Goss – An American Gallery through September 29. Read story.

Tuesday, July 23, 2013

Review: Labour and Wait at the Santa Barbara Museum of Art

The Santa Barbara Museum of Art’s new show brings together 16 international artists to examine the status and meaning of craft in the 21st century. Read story.

Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Specimen at the Arts Fund Gallery

The Arts Fund presents a show full of curiosities from Santa Barbara’s assemblage artists through August 10. Read story.

Wednesday, July 10, 2013

W. Dibblee Hoyt: Far Reaches

Allan Hancock College professor W. Dibblee Hoyt shares his and his student’s photos at the Channing Peake Gallery. Read story.

Tuesday, July 2, 2013

CAF Becomes Museum of Contemporary Art

After 37 years as a “Forum,” the city’s premier alternative art venue joins the ranks of museums. Read story.

Tuesday, June 25, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: