WEATHER »

Visual Arts - Reviews

Ken Nack and Michael Arntz Exhibition in Los Angeles

Santa Barbara Modernists Nack and Arntz Share Retrospective in L.A. Read story.

Monday, October 29, 2018

‘Contemporary Bear Area Artists’ at Sullivan Goss

Exhibit showcases five artists’ expressions of these extraordinary animals. Read story.

Wednesday, August 22, 2018

‘Phoenix Rising’: Mud and Ash as Art

See James and Linda Haggerty’s new ceramics at Sullivan Goss, An American Gallery. Read story.

Saturday, August 11, 2018

Barry McGee at MCASB

Renowned graffiti artist's ‘SB Mid Summer Intensive’ impresses in quantity and quality. Read story.

Tuesday, July 10, 2018

‘JuxtaPOSE’ at The Arts Fund

Four artists expand the field of portraiture. Read story.

Monday, July 2, 2018

‘Summer Nocturne’ at SBMA

The ’70s show up in all their complex glory, combining celebration with criticism and offering much to consider for the present moment. Read story.

Thursday, June 28, 2018

Linda Stein Sculpture

Body armor for 21st-century Amazons Read story.

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

'Black Art Now' Creates Space for Black Artists in Santa Barbara

Santa Barbara Young Black Professionals hosted an art pop-up in Paseo Nuevo. Read story.

Thursday, March 8, 2018

‘Herself: Girlhood in Stop Motion Film’

SBCC exhibit documents five recent productions. Read story.

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

‘Brought to Light: Revelatory Photographs’ on Exhibit at SBMA

The show features more than 60 works of recent acquisitions and institutional favorites that together emphasize a range of photographic practices, from gelatin silver to inkjet prints. Read story.

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Painting the Santa Ynez River

Six area artists use the gouache style to capture the 92-mile waterway from origin to outlet. Read story.

Thursday, February 8, 2018

'100 Grand' at Sullivan Goss

Celebratory annual exhibition in its ninth year Read story.

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Seven Painters in Search of the Unseen in Santa Barbara

Arts Fund group show, ‘Eyes of Another,’ imagines the world as seen through others’ eyes. Read story.

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

John Nava Brings Painting and Tapestry to Sullivan Goss

On display is the artist’s masterpiece of contemporary tapestry. Read story.

Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Lindsey Ross’s Guadalupe Mural

Santa Barbara artist creates a 14-by-20-foot photographic mural of eight women. Read story.

Tuesday, October 31, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: