WEATHER »

Biology Bytes

Biology Bytes author Teisha Rowland is a science writer, blogger at All Things Stem Cell, and graduate student in molecular, cellular, and developmental biology at UCSB, where she studies stem cells. Send any ideas for future columns to her at science@independent.com.

Save the Seeds

As crop diversity becomes increasingly threatened, seed banks again become essential. Read story.

Sunday, May 8, 2011

From Roly Polies to Praying Mantises

There are tons of education kits that biology enthusiasts of all ages can use to watch animals—live and in person!—carry out their fascinating lives. Read story.

Saturday, April 23, 2011

Ant Farms and Sea Monkeys

These classic educational kits allow kids of all ages to watch little animals carry out their fascinating lives. Read story.

Saturday, April 9, 2011

The Biology of Radioactivity

Our bodies endure constant exposure to radiation, but can only take so much. Read story.

Saturday, March 26, 2011

To Your Health

A series of chemical reactions turn leaves into a delicious cup of tea. Read story.

Saturday, March 12, 2011

Invigorating Leaves: The History of Tea

Hundreds of varieties of tea are made from the single species Camellia sinensis. Read story.

Saturday, February 26, 2011

Hair So New

A recent study shows that male-pattern baldness may be caused by a lack of progenitor cells in hair follicles. Read story.

Saturday, February 12, 2011

The Cat’s Meow

How a self-satisfied little carnivore crept out from the wilds and into our hearts. Read story.

Saturday, January 29, 2011

How the Eucalyptus Came to California

A cautionary tale of how the eucalyptus came to be embedded in the California landscape, and its subtle effects. Read story.

Saturday, January 15, 2011

A Childhood Cancer Is Different from Adult Cancers

Study looked at genetics of a very aggressive brain cancer found primarily in children called medulloblastoma. Read story.

Saturday, January 8, 2011

Abominable Snowman!

Or is it just some Himalayan monkey, or the endangered European brown bear? Read story.

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Telomerase: The Fountain of Youth?

In a recent study, researchers showed that this enzyme could reverse degeneration in mice. Read story.

Saturday, December 11, 2010

Over One Million Dead Bats

A mysterious fungus is sweeping through caves, leaving over 80 percent of the winged mammals dead in its wake. Read story.

Saturday, December 4, 2010

Invasion of the Jellyfish

As jellyfish blooms become more frequent, it’s important to understand their impacts. Read story.

Thursday, November 18, 2010

How to Make Your Own Stem Cells

Adult stem cells can now be turned embryonic through multiple methods, to someday create patient-specific transplants that don't trigger immune system rejection. Read story.

Saturday, November 13, 2010
event calendar sponsored by: