WEATHER »

Biology Bytes

Decline of the Honey Bees

A fungus and a virus working together may be the culprits in Colony Collapse Disorder. Read story.

Saturday, November 6, 2010

Werewolves and the Undead

Centuries of individuals who claimed they could turn into a wolf created the foundations of werewolf folklore. Read story.

Saturday, October 30, 2010

A Plague of Vampires

In 1718, Austria came to occupy parts of Eastern Europe, and the Austrians documented some “unusual” traditions in those areas, such as regularly exhuming corpses to make sure they’re actually dead and then killing them again for good measure. Read story.

Saturday, October 23, 2010

Viruses, Part II: Diseases and Cancer

Viruses constantly work to get into our bodies, and into our genomes, resulting in a variety of virus-related diseases and cancers. Read story.

Saturday, October 9, 2010

Viruses, Part I: Origins

Much is still in question about viruses, including whether or not they are alive, and whether the much sought after "last universal common ancestor" was a kind of virus. Read story.

Saturday, October 2, 2010

Will Coral Reefs Survive?

Having survived 240 million years of change, coral may not be able to weather human impact. Read story.

Friday, September 24, 2010

Alcoholic Origins

Many of our favorite drinks came about from people fermenting the food around them. Read story.

Saturday, September 11, 2010

National Human Embryonic Stem Cell Research Obstructed

Last week’s ruling by a U.S. judge blocks President Obama’s embryonic stem cell policies Read story.

Saturday, September 4, 2010

Genetically Modified World: Part III

Engineering lineages of mice that pee pharmaceuticals, monkeys that glow in the dark thanks go what were once fish genes, and much, much more. Read story.

Saturday, August 21, 2010

Genetically Modified World: Part II

Products from genetically modified microorganisms are now an omnipresent part of life. Read story.

Friday, August 13, 2010

Genetically Modified World: Part I

Engineering crops to be more efficient and to save lives. Read story.

Friday, August 6, 2010

The Immortal Jellyfish

Turritopsis can change from an adult to a juvenile indefinitely, making it potentially immortal. Read story.

Friday, July 30, 2010

Regrowing Limbs

Recent breakthroughs have been made in better understanding how the salamander regenerates whole limbs. Read story.

Friday, July 16, 2010

In Vitro Fertilization, Part II: Consequences

A multitude of legal questions now surround this method of making babies. Read story.

Friday, July 9, 2010

In vitro Fertilization, Part I: A Brief History

It has revolutionized the fertility industry, and its use is growing. Read story.

Friday, July 2, 2010

Santa Barbara Fair & Expo

Santa Barbara Fair and Expo celebrates “25 Years of Magic”, ... Read More