WEATHER »

independent.com/carpinteria

Venoco Drilling Looms Large

With Venoco Energy recently gathering enough citizen signatures in support of the Paredon slant-drilling initiative to bypass Carpinteria's traditional review process, the City Council called an emergency meeting on the subject this week. Read story.

Thursday, December 3, 2009

Running Out of Time

Millions in state grant money may be lost by delays. Read story.

Thursday, November 12, 2009

Secondary Water Delivery System Delayed

The clock is ticking on millions in funding, and water managers say the aging South Coast Conduit needs help now. Read story.

Monday, November 2, 2009

Let it Flow

Carpinteria edges toward supporting water revamp. Read story.

Thursday, September 24, 2009

Carp Voters to Decide Fate of Oil Project

The measure could go on a ballot as soon as 2010. Read story.

Thursday, July 30, 2009

Chamomile Cafe

Inside Carpinteria's quaint downtown spot for veggie dishes and more. Read story.

Tuesday, June 23, 2009

Carpinteria Man Charged with Child Pornography

Donald Collier admitted to taking erotic photos of underage girls in Europe. Read story.

Thursday, June 4, 2009

Carping About Water Rates

Nearly 100 concerned Carpinteria Water customers made their presence felt at a Wednesday meeting at Carp. City Hall. Read story.

Friday, May 29, 2009

The Boiling Point of Carp Water

Incensed with high rates, customers of the Carpinteria Valley Water District are putting their collective foot down. Read story.

Thursday, May 28, 2009

Carp Water Tensions Heat Up

Frustrations will likely be vented at a May 27 meeting. Read story.

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Setback for Carpinteria Slant-Drilling Operation

A judge put the relative initiative on hold pending litigation scheduled for July. Read story.

Thursday, April 30, 2009

Carpinteria Beats Back an Epidemic

If it takes a village to raise a child, then it takes a small city to reverse an epidemic in children's health, and that's exactly what's happening in Carpinteria. Read story.

Thursday, April 2, 2009

Carp Water Getting Even Pricier

With a number of potential debt remedies having fallen through, water customers cast about for solutions. Read story.

Thursday, March 26, 2009

Warriors Survive Attack

Year of clashing passions climaxes with vote to remove only two of Carpinteria High's Indian mascot images. Read story.

Wednesday, March 18, 2009

Carpinteria School Board to Decide Mascot Issue

It seemed clear enough to Eli Cordero-the Warrior mascot images displayed all over his high school campus were offensive and should be removed. Read story.

Thursday, March 12, 2009
event calendar sponsored by: