The Call of the Carpinteria Bluffs

Rich with marine life, cultural history, hiking trails, and ballparks—this park has got it all. Read story.

Friday, July 9, 2010

Carp Residents Protest Measure J

Demonstrators launch a balloon to the height of a proposed drilling rig. Read story.

Sunday, June 6, 2010

Measure J: Paredon or Paradise?

Carpinterians debate the Venoco Oil initiative. Read story.

Thursday, May 6, 2010

Hundreds Gather to Protest Venoco Vote

Carpinteria paddles out to fight against Measure J, the slant drilling ballot initiative. Read story.

Sunday, May 2, 2010

Carp Chamber of Commerce Flip-Flops Again on Measure J

The Carpinteria Chamber of Commerce announced it was endorsing Measure J. Read story.

Thursday, April 29, 2010

Measure J Finance Reports Released

Venoco Oil has raised $132,000 this year for Measure J, the ballot initiative asking Carpinteria residents to approve the siting, construction, and operation of a new slant drilling operation—dubbed Paredon—right behind Carpinteria’s City Hall. Read story.

Thursday, April 1, 2010

Natural Gas Plant Plans Terminated

Victory became official last week for local environmental watchdogs, as long-stewing plans to put a liquefied natural gas (LNG) plant off the coast of Carpinteria were terminated by the California State Lands Commission. Read story.

Thursday, March 25, 2010

Oil Initiative Duel

Carp Councilmembers spar over Paredon project. Read story.

Thursday, March 11, 2010

Shouting 'No' to Oil

Venoco initiative blistered as assault on local control. Read story.

Thursday, February 18, 2010

Carpinteria Lauds Volunteers

Chamber of Commerce banquet showcases close-knit, caring community. Read story.

Tuesday, February 2, 2010

Public to Vote on Paredon

Carpinteria voters will decide the fate of Venoco's proposed drilling project. Read story.

Thursday, December 17, 2009

Dead in the Water

A $16-million bond issue is dead in the water, so to speak, although individual projects are still on the table. Read story.

Thursday, December 3, 2009

Venoco Drilling Looms Large

With Venoco Energy recently gathering enough citizen signatures in support of the Paredon slant-drilling initiative to bypass Carpinteria's traditional review process, the City Council called an emergency meeting on the subject this week. Read story.

Thursday, December 3, 2009

Running Out of Time

Millions in state grant money may be lost by delays. Read story.

Thursday, November 12, 2009

Secondary Water Delivery System Delayed

The clock is ticking on millions in funding, and water managers say the aging South Coast Conduit needs help now. Read story.

Monday, November 2, 2009
event calendar sponsored by: