WEATHER »

Gay Girl/Straight World

Miss California Says "No" to Gay Marriage

More surprising than a beauty pageant contestant espousing socially conservative views it that it has become so newsworthy. Read story.

Thursday, May 14, 2009

Concert Concentration

Have you ever been to an event where you can expect certain things to happen? Read story.

Thursday, February 5, 2009

No on Prop 8 Vigil

Hundreds gather to reflect on and protest the state voters' passage of anti-gay measure. Read story.

Saturday, November 8, 2008

Say It with a Hallmark Card-Or Not

Our Gay Girl takes on the new same-sex Hallmark wedding cards, and the Santa Barbara County stores that refuse to sell them. Read story.

Wednesday, September 3, 2008

Moving Daze

The past few weeks, I've been waking up in the middle of the night with a start. I look around, confused by my surroundings; I walk to the bathroom only to bump into walls and trip on unfamiliar obstacles. Read story.

Thursday, June 19, 2008

Drag Show Peeps

In a benefit for the Pacific Pride Foundation, Santa Barbara's finest drag queens strutted and sashayed across the SOhO stage, singing, dancing, and schmoozing the crowd. Read story.

Thursday, June 5, 2008

The Indy's Gay Columnist Chimes In on Thursday's Marriage Ruling

For anyone following current affairs, Thursday's Supreme Court ruling ushers in an exciting time. Read story.

Thursday, May 22, 2008

Hop on the LifeCycle

When I think about San Francisco and Los Angeles, I think ethnic food, thrift stores, and the friends who live there. I never think about traveling on a bike from one city to the other. Read story.

Thursday, May 8, 2008

We're Here. We're Just Like You. Get Used to It.

This past Saturday was my one-year anniversary of coming out to my parents. Read story.

Thursday, April 24, 2008

The Indy's Gay Girl Hits SBCC

Gay Girl/Straight World columnist Penny Patterson speaks to Santa Barbara City College students. Read story.

Tuesday, April 15, 2008

When Straights Take Over the Gay-borhood

What does it mean when all the straight families start taking over the gay neighborhoods? Could it be a good thing? Read story.

Thursday, April 10, 2008

What to Learn from the Murder of Lawrence King

I didn't really have a lot of fears growing up. Read story.

Thursday, March 27, 2008

Val Days

Quite a few years ago, a friend invited me to an anti-Valentine's Day party. Read story.

Thursday, February 14, 2008

When Marriage Is a Four-Letter Word

Marriage. Despite its eight letters, I'm convinced it's a four-letter word. Read story.

Thursday, January 31, 2008

Don't Ask, We'll Tell

I'm not sure if you heard, but the USS Ronald Reagan docked in Santa Barbara this past weekend. Like its namesake, this newest and largest aircraft carrier is no shrinking violet, with a 1,092-foot hull housing more than 5,500 sailors and 80 aircraft. Read story.

Thursday, January 17, 2008