WEATHER »

John Zant

UCSB’s Forgotten Football History

A rundown of the Gauchos’ gridiron days, which will be celebrated during this weekend’s reunion. Read story.

Thursday, April 23, 2015

Get Hooked on Cachuma Lake’s Fish Derby

The 20th Annual Neal Taylor Nature Center Fish Derby goes down April 18-19. Read story.

Thursday, April 16, 2015

Sports: Vin Scully’s Final Season

It’s Vin Scully’s final year as the Dodgers’ announcer, but Santa Barbarans still can’t watch the team play. Read story.

Thursday, April 9, 2015

Sam Cathcart Dies

War veteran, football star and longtime Santa Barbara High coach. Read story.

Saturday, April 4, 2015

Enduring Nick Johnson’s Epic Workout

Remembering the late Santa Barbara High and UCSB water polo player by hiking in His footsteps. Read story.

Thursday, March 26, 2015

Sports: Running

Santa Barbarans leave footprints around the U.S. — from the L.A. Marathon to the U.S.A. Masters Cross Country Championships Read story.

Thursday, March 19, 2015

UCSB Men’s Basketball Finale

A crowd of 5,414 turned out to see Alan Williams lead the UCSB Gauchos to a 64-56 victory over the Cal Poly. Read story.

Thursday, March 12, 2015

High School Soccer’s Big Loss, Big Win

The Chargers take a heartbreaking defeat and the Dons’ earn sudden death victory. Read story.

Thursday, February 26, 2015

UCSB Gets New Director of Athletics

John McCutcheon leaves Boston’s UMass for Santa Barbara. Read story.

Thursday, February 19, 2015

Dos Pueblos Wrestlers

Chargers take down rivals Ventura High and will host the Channel League Finals this Saturday. Read story.

Thursday, February 12, 2015

UCSB Women’s Water Polo

The Gauchos hold their own at last weekend’s Winter Invitational in S.B. Read story.

Thursday, January 29, 2015

Taking it to the Courts

Zant fills us in on the UCSB women’s latest game, Caltech’s epic losing streak, and the return of the Harlem Globetrotters. Read story.

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

High Expectations: UCSB Men’s Volleyball

The Gauchos have an outlook for the 2015 season that is as bright as the new look of Rob Gym. Read story.

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Basketball Brothers from Other Mothers

Bolden Brace and Scott Everman grew up playing together; now they’re rivals. Read story.

Thursday, January 8, 2015

From UCSB Basketball to Tuskegee Airman

Remembering Gaucho Lowell Steward, a fearless athlete and air force pilot. Read story.

Wednesday, December 24, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: