WEATHER »

On the Beat

Congress to the Public: Drop Dead

But health care will still be available to senators and representatives. Read story.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Who Invented Baseball, Anyway?

Was it Abner Doubleday or the English? Read story.

Monday, July 24, 2017

Greenland’s Big Melt

Ice sheets are turning to water on the giant island. Read story.

Thursday, July 13, 2017

We Could Be Canadians

What if there were no Independence Day? Read story.

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Warm Welcome in Russia

Has Putin acquired a sense of humor? Read story.

Thursday, June 29, 2017

Back in the USSR

Gяээtiпgs, Amэяiкaпs! Barney impulsively flies off to St. Petersburg. Read story.

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Cold Nights with Mother Nature

Backpacking with Dick Smith sounded like a good idea, until we went off the trail. Read story.

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Your Least Favorite TV Prez

Out of a choice of at least four, none of them are worth a damn. Read story.

Thursday, June 8, 2017

I’ll Always Have 'Casablanca'

Play it again, Sam. Read story.

Thursday, June 1, 2017

Trump: Last Gasp of the 1950s

The White House has gone wild. Read story.

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

If Washington Made Movies

The cast of characters around the new administration tromps across some classics. Read story.

Thursday, May 11, 2017

So You Wanna Be Mayor?

There’s nothing like being top o' the heap at City Hall. Read story.

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Where Have All Our Characters Gone?

Has the loss of the colorful, offbeat, and strange made Santa Barbara boring? Read story.

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Sex, Lies, and More Lies

Cable news’ performing seals are all heat and no light; plus, remembering Michael Towbes. Read story.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

What’s the Plan, Mr. President?

Bombs away, snake oil, and April foolishness. Read story.

Thursday, April 13, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: