On the Beat

Hillary or Donald, Dodgers or Cubs?

The torment of having to choose. Read story.

Thursday, October 20, 2016

Our Holy Lawns

Santa Barbara's City Council says, "What drought?" Read story.

Thursday, October 13, 2016

Coasting Against the Law

Just how many times have the coastal commissioners met privately with developers? Read story.

Thursday, September 29, 2016

Jazzy State Street at Night

Bars are swinging and coeds dancing to Ulysses Jasz at the James Joyce. Read story.

Thursday, September 22, 2016

Helping Hands Across the Sea

World Dance remakes lives after 1994 genocide. Read story.

Thursday, September 15, 2016

Wacky Book Sale Titles

Volunteers gather tomes, and titles, for September sale. Read story.

Thursday, September 1, 2016

Build, Baby, Build?

Santa Barbara's City Council says 'not now' to development impact fees. Read story.

Thursday, August 25, 2016

The Dodgers Struck Out

Of Mike Piazza and other disastrous trades made by the team. Read story.

Thursday, August 18, 2016

Hot Crime Fiction for Summer Reading

Beat the heat between pages of a book. Read story.

Thursday, August 11, 2016

New Movies from Old

Coming to a multiplex near you! Read story.

Wednesday, August 3, 2016

A Scream in the Night

Party convention politricks abound. Read story.

Thursday, July 28, 2016

When Fear Reigned in Santa Barbara

Irrational suspicion leading to the internment of Japanese Americans in 1942 is a horrible model to follow today. Read story.

Thursday, July 21, 2016

So You Wanna Be a Citizen

A civics test for would-be Americans. Read story.

Thursday, July 14, 2016

Truth Strikes Out

Santa Barbara sportswriter Al Stump told tall tales and outright lies about Ty Cobb. Read story.

Thursday, June 30, 2016

Block Those Voters!

Ballot battles, beggars, and bummers. Read story.

Wednesday, June 15, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: