WEATHER »

On the Beat

Hope Springs for Wrecked Miramar

Rick Caruso's development team thinks resort financing is picking up. Read story.

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Let the Hedge Wars Begin

After six years of peace, Santa Barbara starts up the hedge-height debate again. Read story.

Thursday, March 13, 2014

Can You Dig It?

Lawns are a luxury for places flush with water. Read story.

Thursday, February 27, 2014

Maggie’s Bali Laughs

Online writing is sometimes cringe-worthy. Read story.

Thursday, February 20, 2014

Hooked on Nicotine

Smoking was sexy in the past century; now it's a recognized addiction. Read story.

Thursday, February 13, 2014

Smoke Grass, Don’t Plant It

Ernie Salomon recommends outlawing lawns. Read story.

Thursday, February 6, 2014

What Were They Thinking?

Super Bowl XLVIII plays out smack in the middle of the East Coast storm season. Read story.

Thursday, January 30, 2014

The Wolf of Wall Street

Clothing-optional scenes give a new meaning to Golden Globes. Read story.

Thursday, January 23, 2014

How Green Was My Valley

Today's drought, in which some are selling livestock to absorb the cost of feed, is not as bad as the one of 1862. Read story.

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Twerking into 2014

If California gets split into six, would Santa Barbara join Los Angeles? Read story.

Thursday, January 9, 2014

What? Another Year?

A new year is upon us, bringing more cruise ships, nasty lawsuits, and attacks on Social Security. Read story.

Thursday, January 2, 2014

Booked for the Holi-Daze

Some people drink or eat too much during the holidays. My addiction involves books that weigh too much. Read story.

Thursday, December 12, 2013

The Cats’ Meow

In life, you never know who — or what — is going to show up at your back door. Read story.

Thursday, December 5, 2013

When RFK Came to Town

The Kennedy mystique brought cheering crowds amid “Eugene McCarthy for President” signs. Read story.

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

The Day the World Stood Still

A dark cloud descended on the streets of Santa Barbara on November 22, 1963. Read story.

Thursday, November 21, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: