WEATHER »

On the Beat

Your Least Favorite TV Prez

Out of a choice of at least four, none of them are worth a damn. Read story.

Thursday, June 8, 2017

I’ll Always Have 'Casablanca'

Play it again, Sam. Read story.

Thursday, June 1, 2017

Trump: Last Gasp of the 1950s

The White House has gone wild. Read story.

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

If Washington Made Movies

The cast of characters around the new administration tromps across some classics. Read story.

Thursday, May 11, 2017

So You Wanna Be Mayor?

There’s nothing like being top o' the heap at City Hall. Read story.

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Where Have All Our Characters Gone?

Has the loss of the colorful, offbeat, and strange made Santa Barbara boring? Read story.

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Sex, Lies, and More Lies

Cable news’ performing seals are all heat and no light; plus, remembering Michael Towbes. Read story.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

What’s the Plan, Mr. President?

Bombs away, snake oil, and April foolishness. Read story.

Thursday, April 13, 2017

On the Beach at Bocas

Barney considers island life on Panama's archipelago. Read story.

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Panama Revisited: Wow!

Skyscrapers, some of questionable financing, mark the capital's skyline. One of the tallest bears Trump's name. Read story.

Thursday, March 16, 2017

Cannabis Fields Forever?

Legal marijuana lets you know what you're ingesting. Read story.

Thursday, March 9, 2017

Going to Pot Cops?

Weed taxes, health care, and other Trump ills. Read story.

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Adios, Trump?

Californians start a petition drive to break away. Read story.

Thursday, February 16, 2017

Trump Versus the World

The Supreme Court seat matters more than ever. Read story.

Thursday, February 9, 2017

Trump’s in the Pink

Give the guy a break. He just found out that more than a million people hated him. Read story.

Thursday, January 26, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: