WEATHER »

On the Beat

Casa Serena, the Magic House

In this unobtrusive Bath Street house, women from all walks of life learn the skills for a new life, without alcohol or drugs. Read story.

Thursday, September 12, 2013

Ride on the Wild Side or Mild Side?

Santa Barbarans fumed while facing up to an eight-minute delay just trying to get onto the 101 or across it. Read story.

Thursday, September 5, 2013

Merci! What a Woman!

Barney recalls Mercedes Eichholz, “Feisty Lady,” who died last Thursday. Read story.

Thursday, August 29, 2013

Nude on Mountain Drive

John Frankenheimer’s cult film Seconds, full of Montecito boho pranksters, has been restored. Read story.

Thursday, August 22, 2013

Sweet Tweet Balance Sheet

Barney wonders why Santa Barbara scored a lowly number 38 on the happy meter. Read story.

Thursday, August 15, 2013

No Parking, No Bucking

Fiesta full of odd surprises, this year and every year. Read story.

Thursday, August 8, 2013

My Favorite Fiesta Food

Look, it won’t kill you to relish in warm and fuzzy pleasures of all kinds during Fiesta. Read story.

Thursday, August 1, 2013

Of Tourists and Junkets

Visiting faraway places can be educational, or not. Read story.

Thursday, July 25, 2013

Rights, Wrongs in Steinbeck Case

Why do Steinbeck’s Santa Barbara son and 87-year-old Harper Lee have to wage court battles to regain their royalties? Read story.

Thursday, July 18, 2013

Death of a Firefighter

It was beastly hot when Steve Masto hiked out alone to join a crew battling a Santa Ynez Valley blaze. Read story.

Thursday, July 11, 2013

Are We Too ‘Normal’?

Santa Barbara is a lot of things, but it ain’t zany. Read story.

Thursday, June 27, 2013

The American Turnaround

When I was growing up in Chicago in the 1930s and ’40s, there were no gays among the millions of residents. Read story.

Thursday, June 20, 2013

Miramar Still in Limbo

L.A. developer Rick Caruso is always bragging about his exciting new ideas. Read story.

Thursday, June 13, 2013

Bud Bottoms’s Whale-Sized Proposal

How about a life-sized water feature on the wharf? Read story.

Thursday, June 6, 2013

They Shoot Cows, Don’t They?

Remember the nude-beach murder plotted by a hot-pants wife, her teenage daughter, and two hired punks from Bakersfield? Read story.

Thursday, May 30, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: