WEATHER »

Pet Chat

Back to School, but Not for the Dog

Teachers and students are back in school, while some pets are left wondering what happened to their best buddy they played with all summer. Read story.

Friday, September 13, 2013

Detroit’s Dogs

The City of Detroit’s Animal Control had to stop taking in stray animals for a month this summer because the kennels were full and the city wasn’t able to pay the bill to haul away the euthanized animals. Read story.

Friday, September 6, 2013

Adopt a Rabbit

Read on for 10 reasons rescued bunnies make great pets. Read story.

Friday, August 30, 2013

Pet Flipping

“Pet flipping” is the new trend in which lost pets are being sold for a profit. Read story.

Friday, August 23, 2013

Cats for Cheap

ASAP’s annual kitty sale takes place Saturday, August 17. Read story.

Friday, August 9, 2013

Curb Your Dog

Twice this week while out running with my two kids in a doublewide stroller, I encountered dogs being walked recklessly. Read story.

Friday, August 2, 2013

Backyard Chickens Get Dumped

Hundreds of chickens are being abandoned each year at animal shelters across the nation. Read story.

Friday, July 26, 2013

Be Kind to Animals

Examples of states that are attempting to ensure that their animal residents are protected under the law. Read story.

Friday, July 19, 2013

Cat Haters

For some reason, when it comes to cats, there are so many people who are full of hate. Read story.

Friday, July 12, 2013

Kitty Tips

Many cat owners don’t realize that their pets require specialized care. Read story.

Friday, July 5, 2013

July Fourth Pet Safety

With the Fourth of July less then a week away, pet owners need to take the proper steps to keep their animals safe during festivities. Read story.

Friday, June 28, 2013

Doing It for the Dogs — and Cats

If you’re looking for ways to spend your summer months, here are some ways to help area animal shelters. Read story.

Friday, June 21, 2013

Pets and Summer

Here are some tips on how you can safely participate in summer activities with your pets. Read story.

Friday, June 14, 2013

Adopt a Shelter Cat Month

Thousands of kittens are born each year during the spring and summer months and many of them wind up animal shelters. Read story.

Friday, June 7, 2013

National Dog Bite Prevention Week

More than 4.7 million dog bites occur annually in the U.S., with approximately 60 percent of the victims being children. Read story.

Friday, May 17, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: