WEATHER »

Pet Chat

Doing It for the Dogs — and Cats

If you’re looking for ways to spend your summer months, here are some ways to help area animal shelters. Read story.

Friday, June 21, 2013

Pets and Summer

Here are some tips on how you can safely participate in summer activities with your pets. Read story.

Friday, June 14, 2013

Adopt a Shelter Cat Month

Thousands of kittens are born each year during the spring and summer months and many of them wind up animal shelters. Read story.

Friday, June 7, 2013

National Dog Bite Prevention Week

More than 4.7 million dog bites occur annually in the U.S., with approximately 60 percent of the victims being children. Read story.

Friday, May 17, 2013

Be Kind to Animals Week

The American Humane Society’s celebration of critters. Read story.

Friday, April 26, 2013

Animal Abuse Legislation

The Ag-Gag bill requires evidence of animal cruelty to be turned into authorities within 48 hours. Read story.

Friday, April 19, 2013

Use Pet-Friendly Cleaning Products

Spring clean with your pet in mind. Read story.

Friday, April 12, 2013

Easter Bunny

Rabbits aren’t for everyone, but maybe one is right for you and your family. Read story.

Saturday, March 23, 2013

The Year of the Snake

People who are born under the Year of the Snake can expect good fortune; unfortunately for actual snakes, their outlook doesn’t look as promising. Read story.

Friday, February 15, 2013

Fix Your Pet

February is national spay/neuter month. Read story.

Friday, February 8, 2013

Dogs to Dollars

Owning a pet used to be a sign of extravagance that only the wealthy could afford, but now whether people have companion animals also depends on culture and nationality. Read story.

Friday, February 1, 2013

Celebrity Pets

It’s great to see celebrities setting trends by adopting a pet. Read story.

Friday, January 18, 2013

Animal Victories in 2012

2012 was a year where animal protection laws saw major gains. Read story.

Thursday, January 10, 2013

Making Changes

Start 2013 out right by making resolutions that not only help you, but animals, too. Read story.

Friday, January 4, 2013

Holiday Safety Tips

The holidays are a time for celebration. However, before you start celebrating, first make sure your pets are safe from holiday dangers. Read story.

Friday, December 21, 2012
event calendar sponsored by: