WEATHER »

Starshine

Hey! Can I Get an Epidural Here?

Child leaving for college is like labor all over again. Read story.

Wednesday, August 10, 2016

‘Pokémon’ Is the Balm

Playing With My Son Makes Me Wonder Whether ‘Pokémon Go’ Is Augmented Reality or Not Read story.

Wednesday, July 27, 2016

The Wide Lens of World-Schooling

My nephews’ eyes are open to the globe, thanks to an unorthodox traveling life. Read story.

Wednesday, July 13, 2016

Dress Codes Unzipped: Are School Policies Sexist?

The struggle is real over spaghetti straps, sports bras, and more. Read story.

Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Maxed Out: Is System Rigged Against Working Moms?

Author Katrina Alcorn, who speaks on June 6, wants more respect for working parents. Read story.

Tuesday, May 31, 2016

A Shrine to Splitsville

The breakup museum houses flotsam of ill-fated flings. Read story.

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Feeling the Pay Gap — Personally

Starshine shows you what it feels like to get stiffed on a regular basis. Read story.

Tuesday, May 3, 2016

The Sudden Surge of Transgender Teens

Trying to understand why so many young people are challenging traditional identities. Read story.

Tuesday, April 19, 2016

How Trump Can Win Back Women Voters

Starshine offers some surefire tips for the Donald. Read story.

Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Are All Museums Sex Museums?

Our columnist gets intimate with UCSB professor Jennifer Tyburczy's racy theory. Read story.

Tuesday, March 8, 2016

Anything to Avoid Writing This Column

Starshine wrestles with fear and loathing (and procrastination) at the writer’s desk. Read story.

Tuesday, February 23, 2016

The Waiting Is the Hardest Part

Anticipating college acceptance letters brings out the CRAZY. Read story.

Tuesday, February 9, 2016

Voice-to-Voice with Sarah Koenig of ‘Serial’

Starshine talks with the host of the most popular podcast of all time. Read story.

Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Eff, Yeah! Swearing Finally Has Its Day

Starshine takes on taboo language and embraces her sailory side. Read story.

Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Alert! This Won’t Depress You

Starshine and friends share 20 ways to rise above all the bad news. Read story.

Tuesday, December 15, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: