WEATHER »

Starshine

Crushing on Mommy Tonk

Our columnist finds kindred spirits in profane comedy musical duo. Read story.

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Got Your 
Kaepernickers in a Twist?

What the quarterback's controversial sit should stand for, in America and the NFL. Read story.

Wednesday, September 7, 2016

One Fatal Rx, Room for Cream?

Why, in option-obsessed nation, do we still have so few end-of-life choices? Read story.

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Hey! Can I Get an Epidural Here?

Child leaving for college is like labor all over again. Read story.

Wednesday, August 10, 2016

‘Pokémon’ Is the Balm

Playing With My Son Makes Me Wonder Whether ‘Pokémon Go’ Is Augmented Reality or Not Read story.

Wednesday, July 27, 2016

The Wide Lens of World-Schooling

My nephews’ eyes are open to the globe, thanks to an unorthodox traveling life. Read story.

Wednesday, July 13, 2016

Dress Codes Unzipped: Are School Policies Sexist?

The struggle is real over spaghetti straps, sports bras, and more. Read story.

Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Maxed Out: Is System Rigged Against Working Moms?

Author Katrina Alcorn, who speaks on June 6, wants more respect for working parents. Read story.

Tuesday, May 31, 2016

A Shrine to Splitsville

The breakup museum houses flotsam of ill-fated flings. Read story.

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Feeling the Pay Gap — Personally

Starshine shows you what it feels like to get stiffed on a regular basis. Read story.

Tuesday, May 3, 2016

The Sudden Surge of Transgender Teens

Trying to understand why so many young people are challenging traditional identities. Read story.

Tuesday, April 19, 2016

How Trump Can Win Back Women Voters

Starshine offers some surefire tips for the Donald. Read story.

Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Are All Museums Sex Museums?

Our columnist gets intimate with UCSB professor Jennifer Tyburczy's racy theory. Read story.

Tuesday, March 8, 2016

Anything to Avoid Writing This Column

Starshine wrestles with fear and loathing (and procrastination) at the writer’s desk. Read story.

Tuesday, February 23, 2016

The Waiting Is the Hardest Part

Anticipating college acceptance letters brings out the CRAZY. Read story.

Tuesday, February 9, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: