WEATHER »

Animals

Dog Therapy Training

All for Animals is offering a five-week training course for you and your pooch to become a registered therapy team that will work with children, the elderly, and the disabled. Read story.

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Pit Bull Parade

Dogs dressed in costumes promenade down the bike path from the pier to East Beach, garnering pets and smiles along the way. Read story.

Sunday, November 18, 2012

Young Albino Raccoon Caught on Camera

The extremely rare specimen was spotted sneaking around the Mesa. Read story.

Monday, November 12, 2012

Zoo Docents Wanted

If you like being around animals of the exotic sort, you may want to consider becoming a volunteer docent at the Santa Barbara Zoo. Read story.

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Dogs for All Seasons

To alert the public to its myriad selection, Animal Services has dubbed October its Fall Collection month. Read story.

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Bless Our Furry Friends

In celebration of the feast of Saint Francis, Franciscan priests at the Old Mission will be welcoming creatures great and small on the front lawn of the church to receive their blessing. Read story.

Thursday, October 4, 2012

Canine Cancer Walk

To raise awareness for canine cancer and research, C.A.R.E.4Paws will co-host a two-mile dog march known as the Two Million Dogs PuppyUp! Read story.

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Dog Festival

Each September, for one day, dogs and people gather en masse down by the sea to celebrate all things canine at the annual K-9 Pals Dog Festival & Great Ball Drop. Read story.

Monday, September 24, 2012

Raptor Rapture

The Ojai Raptor Center is vying for national grants of up to $250,000 from Chase Community Giving. Read story.

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Pet Adoption Fair

Girsh Park will be brimming with puppy-dog eyes and kitty-cat purrs when CARE4Paws holds it fourth annual Wags ’n’ Whiskers festival. Read story.

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Top Dog

As Olympic athletes and spectators flocked to London, dogs from all over the country gathered in Lompoc for the 54th and 55th annual Lompoc Kennel Club Dog Show. Read story.

Monday, August 6, 2012

What Doctors Should Learn from Veterinarians

Zoobiquity coauthor Kathryn Bowers on anorexic pigs, ancient erections, and growing up in Goleta. Read story.

Thursday, July 12, 2012

Foxes, Doggies, and Horses

Read on for news about the four-legged critters in Santa Barbara Read story.

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Enter the 4th Annual Los Alamos Dog Races

There's still time to sign your canine up for the July 7 event. Read story.

Saturday, June 16, 2012

New Veterinary Clinic Opens

Animal Medical Center replaces complaint-riddled ABC Veterinary. Read story.

Saturday, May 26, 2012
event calendar sponsored by: