WEATHER »

Animals

Talk to the Animals

A Santa Barbara safari from the tops of trees to the bottom of the seas. Read story.

Thursday, April 4, 2013

Beastly News

Catch up on the latest animal news in Santa Barbara. Read story.

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Giraffe Births: A Tall Order

Santa Barbara Zoo gears up for two new additions to Masai herd. Read story.

Monday, April 1, 2013

It’s Baby Bird Time

Winter rains bring new vegetation growth and a wide variety of wildlife, including many resident and migratory bird species. Read story.

Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Horses Need Help

As folks struggle during these financially tight times it’s easy to forget that animals in rescues also feel the pinch, many of them in our own backyard. Read story.

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

K-9 Caravan

Emily Grossheider and Angela Adan transport California shelter dogs to new homes in Montana. Read story.

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Adopt Feral Cats

County Animal Services has a preponderance of kitties that aren’t tame enough to be house pets but need homes nonetheless. Read story.

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Santa Paws

This weekend, Santa Barbarans can trot their canine(s) over to the Canary Hotel for a snap-and-greet with ol’ Kris Kringle Read story.

Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Dog Therapy Training

All for Animals is offering a five-week training course for you and your pooch to become a registered therapy team that will work with children, the elderly, and the disabled. Read story.

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Pit Bull Parade

Dogs dressed in costumes promenade down the bike path from the pier to East Beach, garnering pets and smiles along the way. Read story.

Sunday, November 18, 2012

Young Albino Raccoon Caught on Camera

The extremely rare specimen was spotted sneaking around the Mesa. Read story.

Monday, November 12, 2012

Zoo Docents Wanted

If you like being around animals of the exotic sort, you may want to consider becoming a volunteer docent at the Santa Barbara Zoo. Read story.

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Dogs for All Seasons

To alert the public to its myriad selection, Animal Services has dubbed October its Fall Collection month. Read story.

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Bless Our Furry Friends

In celebration of the feast of Saint Francis, Franciscan priests at the Old Mission will be welcoming creatures great and small on the front lawn of the church to receive their blessing. Read story.

Thursday, October 4, 2012

Canine Cancer Walk

To raise awareness for canine cancer and research, C.A.R.E.4Paws will co-host a two-mile dog march known as the Two Million Dogs PuppyUp! Read story.

Wednesday, October 3, 2012
event calendar sponsored by: