WEATHER »

Eye on Isla Vista

The Crushing Problem of Ocean Plastics

Sizing up plastic trash in the sea has reached the millions of tons. Read story.

Monday, March 2, 2015

Critical Time for Oceans

Using lessons from land-based extinctions, scientists draw parallels to sea life. Read story.

Tuesday, February 3, 2015

Local Representation for Isla Vista

Das Williams proposes Community Services District to run I.V. Read story.

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Halloween in Isla Vista

In the more than eight years I have lived in Isla Vista, there's never been a Halloween like this. Read story.

Monday, November 10, 2014

Sexual Assault Facts

One in four college women will be a victim of sexual assault during her academic career. Read story.

Monday, October 27, 2014

A Teenage Wasteland No More

Any way you describe it, Isla Vista is facing a defining moment. Read story.

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Bringing the Light to Isla Vista

Committee for a New Isla Vista meets October 7. Read story.

Monday, September 22, 2014

Learning from History

Passage of AB 1014 would allow family members to request a firearms restraining order. Read story.

Monday, September 8, 2014

Getting Back to Basics

Reminding students about elementary values could raise the bar on behavior. Read story.

Monday, August 25, 2014

Trouble in Isla Vista

Cat Neushul is feeling like Michael Corleone these days. Read story.

Monday, August 11, 2014

Isla Vista's Singularity

Many signs for many years pointed to the fact that things were getting out of hand in Isla Vista. Read story.

Monday, July 28, 2014

A Chance for Change

In Isla Vista, the status quo is no longer accepted. Read story.

Sunday, July 13, 2014

Combating Homelessness with Hard Facts

C3H works with city and county officials, service providers, law enforcement, and NGOs to seek effective ways to solve homelessness. Read story.

Monday, June 30, 2014

The Give Sale Gives Back

As UCSB students graduate, move, and head out into the real world, they leave a lot of good stuff behind. Read story.

Monday, June 23, 2014

Addressing Mental Health Issues

Using a recent $11 million grant, the county will create crisis teams. Read story.

Monday, June 9, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: