WEATHER »

Eye on Isla Vista

Bridging the Student-Police Gap

Citizens Academy gives Isla Vistans behind-the-scenes look at police practices. Read story.

Monday, April 25, 2016

Self-Regulating Isla Vista's Party

Isla Vistans take a big step toward changing partying and patrolling with UCIV. Read story.

Friday, April 1, 2016

UCSB’s Adopted Child — Isla Vista

The university’s influence in Isla Vista has evolved from incidental to purposeful. Read story.

Monday, March 7, 2016

The Isla Vista 'Student Ghetto'

I.V.'s infrastructure battles the effects of time, poor design, and limited funding. Read story.

Sunday, February 21, 2016

The Epitome of California Surf Culture

Surfing is as much a part of the I.V. milieu as studying and partying. Read story.

Sunday, February 7, 2016

The Burning Bank Legacy

I.V.’s activist scene has an element of "slacktivism" today as fewer students feel blatant injustice. Read story.

Sunday, January 24, 2016

Isla Vista's Transportation Jungle

The volume and variety of transportation in I.V. make for a chaotic and tricky urban planning problem. Read story.

Monday, January 11, 2016

The Home Stretch for AB3

The last real hurdle to self-governance will be convincing Isla Vistans to approve it. Read story.

Monday, December 28, 2015

A Community Measured by Its Parks

Isla Vista’s parks continue to serve as the stage for expressing the community’s zeitgeist. Read story.

Monday, December 21, 2015

Unremitting Evolution of Downtown I.V.

Generations of businesses have struggled to find their niche within the dense student enclave. Read story.

Monday, November 30, 2015

Isla Vista Is Disappearing

For decades, the cliffs have been eroding, threatening oceanfront properties. Read story.

Friday, November 6, 2015

Invitation Rescinded for I.V. Halloween

Out-of-towners used to flock in droves for the ultimate party — to the community's ire. Read story.

Sunday, November 1, 2015

Regulations Behind I.V. Party Life

Omnipresent county ordinances that regulate and restrict I.V.’s boisterous nightlife stir tensions. Read story.

Sunday, October 25, 2015

I.V.’s Biggest Export: Musical Talent

From reggae chart-toppers to up-and-coming surf rockers, Isla Vista produces successful artists and bands. Read story.

Monday, October 5, 2015

When Dilapidation Blooms into Art

How a community converts its struggles into an increasingly vibrant art scene. Read story.

Friday, September 18, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: