WEATHER »

Gardening

Eucalyptus Woes

People are noticing and asking what is up with the defoliation of eucalyptus trees lately. Read story.

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

The Mighty Acorn

It sounds like a hailstorm at times; the acorns are raining down in great numbers this year. Read story.

Tuesday, October 9, 2012

October Chores

Here are some garden tasks that are suited to this beautiful month. Read story.

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Spiky Species

As I drove through town a week before the autumnal equinox, the striking ivory flower stalks of a mighty yucca were on every street. Read story.

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

A Fifty-Dollar Planting Hole

Is it me, or does it seem like gardening just isn’t as easy as it used to be? Read story.

Saturday, September 22, 2012

Sheet Mulching

An effective method of mulching that is particularly suited to reclaiming turf or weedy wastelands for more sustainable plantings. Read story.

Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Golden State

For gardeners seeking this rich hue, grasses and ginkgos can lend their glimmer, but flowers and evergreen foliage that reliably sport the rich yellow shade may also be needed. Read story.

Saturday, September 1, 2012

Changing Climates

California weather is influenced by the entire Pacific basin, but subtle shifts in the jet stream, increased hurricanes from Mexico, and more can make a world of difference along the West Coast. Read story.

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Tropical Fruit

The fourth largest fruit crop in the world is the bright yellow banana, but there are many selections, many of which can grow and fruit successfully in our home gardens. Read story.

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Ice Plants

While some ice plants can be invasive, there are many that cover a lot of ground attractively. Read story.

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Asexual Flora

Asexual reproduction only preserves a single set of genetic traits. Read story.

Monday, July 30, 2012

Summer Treats

The best tasting fruits and vegetables are grown to perfection not for the mass market, but as close to home as possible. Read story.

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Berries

Berries are among the quintessential flavors of summer, and all are relatively easy to grow. Read story.

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Hedgerows

Learning the food requirements of animals, birds, and insects that may be beneficial and offering them in the garden creates a healthier, more stable environment. Read story.

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Smart Irrigation

Across North America, July is the one month when water usage is on average at its very highest. Read story.

Tuesday, June 26, 2012
event calendar sponsored by: