WEATHER »

Gardening

Nature’s Healthy Recipe

The healthful benefits of gardening are many, and almost anyone, regardless of ability, can realize some of them. Read story.

Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Winter Pruning

Now is the time to cut back fruit trees to ensure bigger and better fruit next year. Read story.

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Seed Dispersal

Plants first made their first successful attempts at living on land about 425 million years ago. Read story.

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Foxtail Agave

All over town, the foxtail agaves are sending up their weirdly wonderful flower spikes. Read story.

Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Drip by Drip

Clay pitchers slowly lose water through osmosis into the surrounding soil, leaking out only what is physically needed to dampen the soil. Read story.

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Growing Citrus

All citrus have their origins in tropical Asia, but, in Southern California, most will grow well even in interior valleys that experience frost. Read story.

Saturday, November 17, 2012

Savvy Succulent

Succulent plants store water within the cells of their leaves and/or stems, and/or roots to survive through extended periods of minimal or non-existent rainfall. Read story.

Monday, November 5, 2012

Eucalyptus Woes

People are noticing and asking what is up with the defoliation of eucalyptus trees lately. Read story.

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

The Mighty Acorn

It sounds like a hailstorm at times; the acorns are raining down in great numbers this year. Read story.

Tuesday, October 9, 2012

October Chores

Here are some garden tasks that are suited to this beautiful month. Read story.

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Spiky Species

As I drove through town a week before the autumnal equinox, the striking ivory flower stalks of a mighty yucca were on every street. Read story.

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

A Fifty-Dollar Planting Hole

Is it me, or does it seem like gardening just isn’t as easy as it used to be? Read story.

Saturday, September 22, 2012

Sheet Mulching

An effective method of mulching that is particularly suited to reclaiming turf or weedy wastelands for more sustainable plantings. Read story.

Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Golden State

For gardeners seeking this rich hue, grasses and ginkgos can lend their glimmer, but flowers and evergreen foliage that reliably sport the rich yellow shade may also be needed. Read story.

Saturday, September 1, 2012

Changing Climates

California weather is influenced by the entire Pacific basin, but subtle shifts in the jet stream, increased hurricanes from Mexico, and more can make a world of difference along the West Coast. Read story.

Tuesday, August 28, 2012
event calendar sponsored by: