WEATHER »

Gardening

Berries

Berries are among the quintessential flavors of summer, and all are relatively easy to grow. Read story.

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Hedgerows

Learning the food requirements of animals, birds, and insects that may be beneficial and offering them in the garden creates a healthier, more stable environment. Read story.

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Smart Irrigation

Across North America, July is the one month when water usage is on average at its very highest. Read story.

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Tough Weeds

Weeds come in many different shapes and sizes, but the key to getting the upper hand when they invade is in understanding how they grow and reproduce. Read story.

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Sage Plantings

Some species in the very diverse genus Salvia (around 900 species total) are merely kitchen herbs, but this group of plants has many other stars. Read story.

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Artichokes

Artichoke is a relative of thistles and the edible parts are actually flower buds. Read story.

Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Fire Prevention

A little caution and advance preparation can increase the odds for a defensible garden that may even provide a measure of protection against wildfire. Read story.

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

The Three Vegetable Sisters

This month it is time to plant three favorite summer vegetables — corn, squash, and beans. Read story.

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Birds, Bats, and Bugs

In the effort to combat garden insect pests, there is a cadre of carnivores ready to rush to the chore. Read story.

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Sunroses

Pest-free, unlikely to succumb to fungal pathogens, and generally unpalatable to deer and rabbits. Read story.

Monday, May 7, 2012

Plant Life

Visit a garden and explore the wonderful world of plants. Read story.

Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Colorful Wings

There are about two dozen other butterfly species that are commonly found in the coastal Santa Barbara area. Read story.

Monday, April 23, 2012

Invasive Species

The USDA has dedicated the whole month of April to educating the public about the seriousness of invasive species. Read story.

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Essential Herb

It’s not too unusual for closely related plants to have different purposes, the most familiar being the seasoning known as oregano. Read story.

Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Saving Seed

Consumers and farmers alike are becoming aware of the risks of depending on ever fewer seed sources the agendas of which may be more profit-based than healthy. Read story.

Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Billy Collins & Aimee Mann

Presented by UCSB Arts & Lectures, Former U.S. Poet Laureate ... Read More