WEATHER »

History 101

The Callahan Building

This four-story building was built shortly after the June 1925 earthquake. Read story.

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Leopold Stokowski

For almost 20 years, famed orchestra leader Leopold Stokowski maintained a home in Montecito. Read story.

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Frank Lloyd Wright

His commission for a home near the intersection of Hot Springs and Summit roads was his first in the state and the only one on the South Coast. Read story.

Monday, October 10, 2011

Shepard's Inn

The hotel was known for its wonderful home-cooked meals, made with farm-fresh ingredients. Read story.

Monday, October 3, 2011

Who was Davy Brown?

The hunter/outdoorsman lived in this area in a wooden cabin in the late 1800s. Read story.

Monday, September 26, 2011

What Is a Vaquero?

The legacy of their horsemanship and craft remains a vital part of the story of Old California. Read story.

Monday, September 19, 2011

Park Lane

What is the history of the Montecito estate? Read story.

Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Sheriff James Ross

Scotsman Ross made a number of improvements to the force and worked hard to eliminate corruption. Read story.

Saturday, August 27, 2011

S.B. Volcano

The South Coast is not usually associated with volcanoes, but there were indeed such phenomena of a sort in our area. Read story.

Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Owen O’Neill

He was an engineer, a surveyor, miner, public servant, and was responsible for one of the seminal works on Santa Barbara County history. Read story.

Wednesday, August 3, 2011

St. Vincent's History

Today, the Daughters of Charity at St. Vincent's operate their mission of mercy in the same location as they did when they came to Santa Barbara in 1858. Read story.

Friday, July 29, 2011

Aviator Bessie Owen

Owen became nationally-known when her account of her globe-trotting escapades, Aerial Vagabond, hit the bookstores in 1941. Read story.

Monday, July 18, 2011

The De la Guerra Wedding

On the morning of January 24, 1836, one of the most prominent Americans in Alta California wed a daughter of one of the grandest of the California rancheros. Read story.

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Who Was Frank Flournoy?

Flournoy's achievements as a surveyor and engineer shaped the contours of Santa Barbara County. Read story.

Monday, June 20, 2011

Phones in S.B.

In July 1886, the Sunset Telephone and Telegraph Company began operation in Santa Barabara with 50 subscribers. Read story.

Friday, June 10, 2011
event calendar sponsored by: