WEATHER »

Community - Lead Stories

Community News

Find out about zoo jobs, the Barbara Ireland Walk/Run party, and the expansion of an animal museum. Read story.

Thursday, January 29, 2015

Bonsai Boy

Ten-year-old Tyler DeBlauw wins statewide bonsai scholarship. Read story.

Monday, January 26, 2015

Rabbi Steve Reflects on Three Decades

Celebrating Steve Cohen’s 10 years at Congregation B'nai B'rith and 30 years in Santa Barbara. Read story.

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Danger Dog Eats Cannabis Cookies

My dog ate enough pot cookies to put a couple-dozen full-sized humans deep into a state of Holy shit, I’m high!!” Read story.

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Parasite Paradise

The opportunist organisms provide a gauge as to whether the marsh is thriving. Read story.

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Paul Nicklen's Wild Spirit

The National Geographic photojournalist documents some of the planet’s most inhospitable areas. Read story.

Thursday, January 8, 2015

Climate Change Crusaders Kids Will Love

UCSB Bren School’s Owen Liu writes science mystery novel for middle schoolers. Read story.

Saturday, January 3, 2015

The Spoiling of Paradise

In West Papua, unwanted visitors promise knives and tools, and with them, change. Read story.

Thursday, January 1, 2015

House of Dolls

Collection features bears, figurines, storybook and ball-jointed dolls, memorabilia, and more. Read story.

Saturday, December 27, 2014

A Walk for GMO Labeling

Taylor Lancaster plans to walk across American and discuss genetically modified organisms along the way. Read story.

Thursday, December 25, 2014

Scene in S.B.

Kristin Knapp Cole gets her basketball jersey (#44) hung on the wall at S.B. High’s J.R. Richards Gym. Read story.

Tuesday, December 23, 2014

Xmas Tree Recycling

Send your yuletide tree out in a blaze of glory at the annual Solvang Christmas tree burn. Read story.

Tuesday, December 23, 2014

Get Your Holiday Shop On in Ojai

Deck the Halls brings its seasonal pop-up fare back to the Ojai Rancho Inn. Read story.

Thursday, December 18, 2014

Profile: Pearl Bloom

The 88-year-old has been working at Macy’s for 40 years and has no plans to retire. Read story.

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

S.B.-Centric Holiday Ideas

Check out these gift ideas for the raging Santa Barbara-o-phile. Read story.

Thursday, December 11, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: