Community - Lead Stories

Donna Dees Organizes Mother of All Gun-Violence Concerts

Concert Across America on September 25 puts gun violence on radar for presidential debate. Read story.

Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Shave & a Haircut: Montecito Barbers

The Sanchez family celebrates 50 years and three generations of cutting hair. Read story.

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

Robot Helps People Walk Again

Cottage Hospital’s Ekso GT gives mobility back to spinal-cord-injury and stroke patients. Read story.

Tuesday, September 6, 2016

Sea Glass Festival Returns This Weekend

The 2nd annual Santa Barbara Sea Glass & Ocean Arts Festival moves to Earl Warren Showgrounds. Read story.

Tuesday, September 6, 2016

CAFWA Empowers African Women

Santa Barbara-based nonprofit works on sustainable solutions in Northern Uganda. Read story.

Tuesday, August 30, 2016

Saltura Makes Modern Beachwear for Men

David Malina and Addison Proctor develop new Santa Barbara-based clothing brand. Read story.

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Improving the World with Soccer and Love

Dunn School graduate Kelsey Sullivan, 28, adopts 14 boys from Sierra Leone. Read story.

Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Ice Cream at the Finish Line

Here are some tips and treats for the 36th Annual Beach Endurance Event. Read story.

Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Scoping Blue Planet Eyewear

Carpinteria sunglass company makes low-cost product with high values. Read story.

Tuesday, August 9, 2016

Why We Started the Fiesta Cruiser Ride

Explaining the 1979 origins of the annual bicycle trek that finishes Fiesta. Read story.

Tuesday, August 2, 2016

A Man and His Rock

Geologist Lincoln Hollister’s sense of the immense has Santa Barbara roots. Read story.

Monday, August 1, 2016

Same Bark, New Bytes

The new Santa Barbara Humane Society website is the cat’s meow. Read story.

Monday, August 1, 2016

Apply Now to Attend TEDx Santa Barbara

Cofounder Mark Sylvester discusses the big ideas event coming on August 20. Read story.

Thursday, July 28, 2016

'Pokémon Go' Takes Isla Vista

The augmented-reality game makes waves and causes injuries in the UCSB community. Read story.

Wednesday, July 27, 2016

Vintage Vehicles Gather for Veterans

Elks Lodge in Goleta hosts its annual Groovin’ in the Grove car and trailer show on July 30. Read story.

Thursday, July 21, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: