WEATHER »

Community - Lead Stories

Event: Ocean Paddle

The third annual Ocean Paddle fundraiser for S.B.’s Sorel Kolendrianos and the Rett Syndrome Foundation takes place Saturday, June 14. Read story.

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Shedding Light for Free

Goleta company has donated over 60,000 solar-powered LED lights internationally. Read story.

Saturday, June 7, 2014

Close Escapes in S.L.O. County

Two days of adventure and beauty in Cambria, Pismo, and Santa Margarita. Read story.

Thursday, June 5, 2014

Goleta Getting “The Goodland” Hotel

Boutique chain Kimpton brings style and social scene to Calle Real remodel of former Holiday Inn. Read story.

Saturday, May 31, 2014

Angels Foster Care Always Needs Families

Since Angels was founded in 2006, it has placed 153 babies in stable homes. Read story.

Thursday, May 22, 2014

Global Youth Summit

Amala Foundation brings its second international conference to California. Read story.

Thursday, May 22, 2014

The Mission Archive-Library

Free event on May 22 hopes to raise support for Edwin Deakin paintings and library at large. Read story.

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Dr. John La Puma Promotes Culinary Medicine

The physician's focus on lifestyle measures stems from his years working concurrently as a cook and a medical professor in Chicago. Read story.

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

The Blessings and Curses of Nanotechnology

A Q&A with Barbara Harthorn, Head of UCSB's Center for Nanotechnology in Society. Read story.

Monday, May 12, 2014

Craig Rudholm's Redemption

The troubled Santa Barbara teacher made headlines when he mysteriously disappeared in October 2012, but now he's back in town and working on his art and his amends. Read story.

Thursday, May 1, 2014

Apps: Fishline

Ben Hyman wants to sell you local sustainable fish. Read story.

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Robert Ballard’s New Adventures in Exploration

The famed oceanographer comes to UCSB as part of A&L’s National Geographic Live series. Read story.

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

S.B. Scene

One Santa Barbaran explores the art of balloon animals, while another occupies the skies with her kite. Read story.

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Cambodian Communities in Exile

Santa Barbara residents Kellie Kreiss and Robb Klassen document land disputes and violent evictions in Phnom Penh. Read story.

Friday, April 18, 2014

Animals: Creature Features

CARE4Paws gets grants, ASAP asks for cat adoption stories, and Hospice adds support group for pet loss. Read story.

Wednesday, April 16, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: