WEATHER »

My Life

My Life: Xmas Music

On this balmy Christmas afternoon, we went into the backyard and sat behind the garage transistor radio, trying hard to feel the spirit of the season. Read story.

Tuesday, December 24, 2013

My Life: Christmas Memory

On top of the tree in our living room today was a luminous white angel from my sister, and dangling among its branches were little mementos of my daughter growing up. Read story.

Tuesday, December 24, 2013

My Life: So This is Christmas

I went to visit my 90-year-old mother and found her in the multipurpose room of her assisted living facility watching an old Andy Williams Christmas special. Read story.

Monday, December 23, 2013

Living in Two Worlds

Wounded Warrior Battalion volunteer finds immense caring for wounded Marines at Pendleton. Read story.

Thursday, December 19, 2013

My Life: A Chocolate Buddha

It reminds me of the chocolate Easter bunnies of my childhood, where you’d look at the cute little thing and then bite off its hollow head. Read story.

Tuesday, December 17, 2013

My Life: Something’s Watching Us

I paid no attention to the sound at first, but I soon came to realize that it was something moving around near my truck. Read story.

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Staging My Life

The madness of selling a home you still live in. Read story.

Saturday, October 19, 2013

Santa Barbara Was My Paris

I first arrived in Santa Barbara scared, cold, tired, broke, and hungry; the dreams that grew 50 years ago in Santa Barbara never failed me. Read story.

Friday, September 6, 2013

Good Car, Ma

The amazing (auto) biography of Peggy Hurst and her vintage VW van. Read story.

Thursday, May 23, 2013

Guns of Gaviota

Ranch resident tells of panga boats beaching and the area’s notorious history. Read story.

Wednesday, May 15, 2013

Joshua Camberlan Finds Life in Opera

Despite his unique challenges, my 29-year-old son thrives in downtown Santa Barbara. Read story.

Saturday, May 11, 2013

Passover Rumination

What keeps us from fulfilling our promise is often what enslaves us. On the first Passover after my divorce, I realized this lesson. Read story.

Sunday, March 24, 2013

Care and Connections in Bolivia

Remembering last year's mission to prepare for the 10th Annual El Puente benefit for the Rio Beni Health Project. Read story.

Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Brothers in Arms

A soldier and a prisoner meet years later in Guadalupe and forge a deep bond. Read story.

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

My Old Dog

There is some misplaced cosmic calculation that has decreed that a dog’s years are so much fewer than those of the people who love him. Read story.

Tuesday, January 15, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: