WEATHER »

My Life

The Record Collection

In a shadowy corner by the staircase was the record collection, all of it up for grabs. Read story.

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Clattering Windows

Vandenberg Air Force base is about 30 miles from here and the launch of some sort of weather satellite booster had been scheduled for the wee hours of this morning. Read story.

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

Take a Banana

Some deep-rooted program takes over and all I can do is load people down with food. Read story.

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

Slot Canyon Body Slam

Being trapped by a boulder is far from the only way to get in trouble out there. Read story.

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

When the Well Runs Dry

A sign on the laundromat wall admonished customers: “No Horse Blankets in these Machines.” Read story.

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

The Girl’s Speech

How Tom Hooper’s new film The King’s Speech hit home for a former stutterer. Read story.

Monday, December 20, 2010

A Christmas Corsage

In the days of my childhood in Brooklyn, women often wore corsages pinned to their coats at holiday season. Read story.

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

A Walk to the Well

No water on Thanksgiving Day reminds the author to be thankful for what she has. Read story.

Thursday, November 25, 2010

Facing Fears

Santa Barbaran Cynthia Ward decides to take life head on as she approaches 60 years old. Read story.

Thursday, November 4, 2010

Toning Up

Getting in shape with personal trainer Chris Ecklund. Read story.

Wednesday, September 8, 2010

American Idol Grand Finale

Santa Barbaran Kathy McColm travels to L.A. for a live taping of the popular music show. Read story.

Sunday, May 30, 2010

Letting Go

An abuse survivor finds solace and empowerment at the S.B. Rape Crisis Center. Read story.

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

The Heart of Thanksgiving Is Giving Thanks

Memories of holidays past and present. Read story.

Thursday, November 26, 2009

Tale of Two Sisters

Verbally abused by a Catholic school nun, Ann Winter heals her pain by making amends with the sister decades later. Read story.

Sunday, November 15, 2009

Upwardly Mobile Housing Delivers Affordable Luxury

Soon I reluctantly will leave Santa Barbara, but I cannot depart without revealing my secret to buying low-cost luxury housing in this pricey paradise. Read story.

Tuesday, March 31, 2009

The Dirty Knobs

The Dirty Knobs and The Coffis Brothers & The Mountain ... Read More