WEATHER »

Indy Goes Crossfit

For the next three months, The Independent's senior editor Matt Kettmann will be working out at Crossfit Pacific Coast on Anacapa Street. Since he's never been in shape in his life, we expect his reports to be laden with pain, puking, and, we hope, persistence.

Los Prietos Gets CrossFit

Last week, the trainers from CrossFit Pacific Coast taught delinquent teens how to exercise. Read story.

Saturday, June 9, 2012

Caught in the CrossFit Crossfire

Our intrepid senior editor enters the world of serious exercise and emerges a better, stronger man. Read story.

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Work Out for Good Cause

A chat with CrossFit Goodland founder Nick Conn, who’s hosting a June 4 competition to benefit nonprofits. Read story.

Sunday, May 29, 2011

CrossFit Yin, Yoga Yang, and More Power to Play

An extended interview with Eric Malzone, who cofounded CrossFit Pacific Coast two years ago. Read story.

Saturday, May 7, 2011

Fighter, Healer, Crossfit Coach

Crossfit Pacific Coast’s co-owner Traver Boehm talks about mixed martial arts, acupuncture, and the right attitude. Read story.

Saturday, April 23, 2011

Crossfit Coach Profile: Jeff Baker

Here’s the first in a series of profiles of the folks who torture and train us into shape. Read story.

Saturday, April 2, 2011

I Like Weightlifting?

To the author's surprise, he now looks forward to the very thing that first turned him off about Crossfit. Read story.

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Return to Crossfit

Stopping Crossfit for the film fest makes my return day quite a challenge. Read story.

Wednesday, February 9, 2011

200 Pounds of Accomplishment

How just one weightlifting success makes Crossfit seem less like torture. Read story.

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

First Time Twice a Week

Hitting both the Wednesday and Friday sessions gives author a sense of Crossfit stride. Read story.

Sunday, January 16, 2011

My First Official Workout

Morning of lifting and ring work leaves arms sore, spirits unsure; plus, a new diet plan! Read story.

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

Watch Me Puke

My introduction to Crossfit Pacific Coast. Read story.

Wednesday, January 5, 2011
event calendar sponsored by: