WEATHER »

Economics Explained

Liquidation or Reorganization?

Broadly speaking, there are two different ways to go bankrupt. Read story.

Sunday, May 5, 2013

The Different Types of Bankruptcy

Before we discuss the details, I'd like to explain why we use such odd names. Read story.

Sunday, April 28, 2013

Modern Bankruptcy Law in the U.S.A.

A brief history from 1898, when bankruptcy became a permanent feature of the economic system, to the 2005 legislation that brought sweeping changes in favor of creditors. Read story.

Sunday, April 21, 2013

Why We Need Bankruptcy, and How It Developed

I grew up with bankruptcy because my father, Murray Hahn, was an accountant who specialized in insolvency. Read story.

Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Understanding Bankruptcy: What It Is

Allowing overwhelmed debtors to go bankrupt benefits the economy as a whole. Read story.

Monday, April 8, 2013

Love and Economics

Fundamental economic principles, properly applied, can enhance the quality of an intimate relationship. Read story.

Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Mortgages and Christmas Gifts

Making an extra mortgage payment — even a small one, once a year — will save you an astonishing amount. Read story.

Thursday, December 20, 2012

Retained Earnings, Stock Repurchase, and Dividends

As you might expect, the people who are most interested in what a company does with its money are the owners, in this case, the shareholders. Read story.

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Libor: The Global Interest Rate Benchmark

Every weekday, an obscure London-based organization issues a set of 150 short-term interest rates that have a huge influence on financial transactions around the world. Read story.

Saturday, August 4, 2012

How Thinking Affects Investing: Part 4 of 4

To be a good investor, you must acquire skill and knowledge. Read story.

Saturday, July 7, 2012

How Thinking Affects Investing: Part 3 of 4

In this column, Harley Hahn discusses ways people deal with the limits of rationality. Read story.

Sunday, June 24, 2012

How Thinking Affects Investing: Part 2 of 4

Insight into your emotional nature will pay off handsomely by helping you avoid such pitfalls as the “sunk-cost effect,” among others. Read story.

Saturday, June 9, 2012

How Thinking Affects Investing

In this series I will examine the habits and biases that influence us unconsciously (usually for the worse) when we making financial decisions. Read story.

Friday, May 25, 2012

You Can Be Part of the 1 Percent

Which route would you choose? To an economist, the answer is obvious. Read story.

Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Money Desensitization

The moment you enter the marketplace, you are being manipulated far more than you realize. Read story.

Sunday, March 11, 2012
event calendar sponsored by: