WEATHER »

independent.com/environment

Art Party with a Purpose

The Bacara Resort & Spa hosts this two-day art show and fundraiser for the Gaviota Coast. Read story.

Thursday, March 28, 2013

14,000 Gaviota Acres Permanently Preserved

Plan finalized between Hansen Family and California Rangeland Trust. Read story.

Thursday, March 7, 2013

GavPac Gone Rogue?

Final meetings get testy as advisory group asserts its will over Gaviota Coast planning. Read story.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Cap and Trade Explained

UCSB economist Charles Kolstad breaks down the new state program to reduce emissions. Read story.

Thursday, November 29, 2012

Hooked on Frack?

Where oil companies could be fracking in Santa Barbara County. Read story.

Thursday, November 15, 2012

Gaviota Cluster Buster?

Planning Committee votes to redo little-known land use policy. Read story.

Thursday, September 20, 2012

Judge Rules in Favor of Naples Development

Attorneys and environmentalists vow to keep fighting to preserve stretch of Gaviota Coast. Read story.

Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Deal to Buy Naples Dissolves

BondRok and CrossHarbor spit the bit. Read story.

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Kickstarting in the Name of Naples

Surfboard shaper Ryan Lovelace launches eco-minded art effort. Read story.

Friday, May 18, 2012

Supes Show Heightened Scrutiny of Potential Naples Developers

The supervisors sent a message to potential Naples property investors this week, effectively telling them that any efforts toward developing the land will be met by extreme scrutiny. Read story.

Thursday, May 17, 2012

Things to Know with Jean-Michel Cousteau

Ocean preservationist talks about chemicals in our waters, fish bones neutralizing lead, and his upcoming fundraiser at Cate School. Read story.

Friday, April 27, 2012

Trailblazing Gaviota the Slow Way

Planning committee grinding out details of public trail access. Read story.

Thursday, April 19, 2012

New Owners at Naples?

Boston investment firm ready to write check for Gaviota property. Read story.

Thursday, March 22, 2012

Big Boats Banned from Dumping Waste Close to Shore

EPA creates the largest “No Discharge Zone” in the country. Read story.

Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Much Ado About Jellyfish

Experts question claims about surging populations. Read story.

Sunday, February 12, 2012
event calendar sponsored by: