WEATHER »

independent.com/environment

Much Ado About Jellyfish

Experts question claims about surging populations. Read story.

Sunday, February 12, 2012

California Tide Pools? There’s an App for That

Now available for free at the Apple Store. Read story.

Saturday, February 11, 2012

County Waits to Weigh In On Naples

The county is sitting back see what happens in the fraternal battle between developer Matt Osgood and First National Bank over who owns the right to develop Naples. Read story.

Thursday, February 9, 2012

Otter Comment Period Extended

Those interested in supporting or fighting the plan to end the 24-year-old translocation program now have until November 21. Read story.

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Water Watchdogs with a Camera

A first look at Santa Barbara ChannelKeeper's new video series that's aimed at catching polluters on tape. Read story.

Saturday, October 15, 2011

Naples, Au Naturel

This week’s guided kayak tour of the Gaviota Coast will benefit the Naples Coalition. Read story.

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Starting a Swamp

On Monday, the hard work to restore the Channel Islands' biggest coastal wetland started at Prisoner's Harbor on Santa Cruz Island. Read story.

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Bixby Being Bad?

Coastal Commission staff hits Gaviota Ranch with notice of violations. Read story.

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Solarize Santa Barbara Extended

The deal-cutting program to put more solar panels on Santa Barbara roofs gets extended but near end. Read story.

Thursday, July 21, 2011

Hibbits Ranch Goes Ag for Good

Hibbits Ranch in east Lompoc made it official this week—it is going to be in agriculture forever. Read story.

Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Broken Dreams, Budding Promises

Naples development dreams evaporating; global preservation group awed by stretch of Gaviota Coast. Read story.

Thursday, June 30, 2011

Feds Sue Greka

Ask for $2.4 million in clean-up costs of oil spills. Read story.

Thursday, June 23, 2011

Channelkeeper Gets Grant for Reducing Plastic Bags

The Fund for Santa Barbara announced this week that it will pay a two-year grant to Santa Barbara Channelkeeper, a nonprofit that works to prevent environmental degradation of the Santa Barbara Channel. Read story.

Thursday, June 16, 2011

Tracking the Fracking

Officials and public take hard look at controversial drilling method. Read story.

Thursday, June 9, 2011

California Fish Laced with Mercury

According to the results of a long-stewing state-funded research project, certain types of fish off the California coastline are laced with potentially dangerous levels of mercury. Read story.

Wednesday, June 1, 2011
event calendar sponsored by: