News Features

Two Contenders for 3rd District Supervisor?

Bruce Porter announces his candidacy; Joan Hartmann considers a run. Read story.

Thursday, November 12, 2015

Dominguez, Rowse, Murillo Confirmed Winners

First City Council race-by-district counts 36 percent overall turnout of voters. Read story.

Tuesday, November 10, 2015

UCSB Geologist Leads Mission to Antarctica

Scientists study the effects of subduction on lava-formed rock. Read story.

Monday, November 9, 2015

Eating Crab Off-Limits

Dangerous levels of domoic acid found in area rock and Dungeness crab. Read story.

Monday, November 9, 2015

Isla Vista Is Disappearing

For decades, the cliffs have been eroding, threatening oceanfront properties. Read story.

Friday, November 6, 2015

Hundreds of Foster Kids Need a Home

The county honors one especially welcoming family. Read story.

Thursday, November 5, 2015

Historic Santa Barbara Elections; Ho-Hum Turnout

The City Council elections-by-district saw a less than awe-inspiring turnout of only 35 percent of registered voters. Read story.

Wednesday, November 4, 2015

State to Cap Leaky Summerland Oil Well

Agencies launch first phase of capping project at Becker well. Read story.

Saturday, October 31, 2015

Gibraltar Fire Almost Out

It's at 50 percent containment, and evacuation warnings have been lifted. Read story.

Friday, October 30, 2015

UPDATE: Fire in Montecito Foothills

UPDATE: Gibraltar Fire 50% contained; evacuation warnings lifted. Read story.

Originally published 7:03 a.m., October 29, 2015
Updated 9:30 a.m., October 30, 2015

Jail Calls Now Cheaper

FCC rules the current rates are "excessive" and "egregious." Read story.

Thursday, October 29, 2015

Legislators Hold Oil Pipeline Safety Hearing

Panelists discuss testing methods and frequency. Read story.

Tuesday, October 27, 2015

Banker Janet Garufis Recognized Nationally

Chief of Montecito Bank & Trust named vice chair of Fed advisory council. Read story.

Saturday, October 24, 2015

Democratic Women Endorse Carbajal for Congress

The vote reportedly came down to one person. Read story.

Originally published 4:00 p.m., October 23, 2015
Updated 4:22 p.m., October 26, 2015

Eastern Goleta Valley of Thorns

Amid fire concerns, debate grows around chaparral as sensitive habit. Read story.

Thursday, October 22, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: